MotoGP 2013: Assen Results

A sensational day for the Factory Yamaha squad saw Valentino Rossi take his first victory since Sepang 2010

THE WORLD has waited two and a half years to see it, but today at Assen, Valentino Rossi stood on the top step of the podium once more. After a lacklustre return to Yamaha for 2013, the victory today (29 June) is a much need confidence boost for the nine-time world champion who won by a comfortable margin ahead of the battling pair of Marc Marqez and pole sitter Cal Crutchlow.

It was the emphatic Italian’s 80th grand prix victory, who moved through from fourth on the grid to pass Stefan Bradl, Marc Marqez and Dani Pedrosa to take the lead with 20 laps to go. It looked for a time as though The Doctor was unable to pull away from the chasing Repsol Honda pair, but as the race entered its final phase the two Spaniards had no answer to the consistent pace of the #46 machine.

Crutchlow’s sensational pole did not help the British rider in the early part of the race, as by turn one he had dropped back to fifth, with Dani Pedrosa rocketing into the lead in his usual fashion. The featherweight Spaniard couldn’t maintain race-winning pace, however, and after Rossi made his way past both Repsol Hondas into the lead, Pedrosa slipped back to a distant fourth.

Arguably the most incredible story of the day was not, surprisingly, Rossi’s victory, but the herculean effort of his Factory Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo, who having broken his collarbone in wet free practice on Thursday, defied all the odds and climbed aboard his M1 Yamaha for today’s race.

Determined not to let Pedrosa walk away with a bucket load of championship points, Lorenzo fought through the pain from 12th on the grid, briefly getting as high as fourth before eventually slipping back to fifth across the line. As the flag came out, the reigning world champion was visibly exhausted, but only lost two points to Pedrosa which would otherwise have been 13 had he not been able to race.

MotoGP 2013 – Assen results

  1. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 41:25.202s
  2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) +2.170
  3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) +4.073
  4. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) +7.832
  5. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) +15.510
  6. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) +27.519
  7. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) +31.598
  8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) +32.405
  9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) +33.751
  10. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) +33.801
  11. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) +34.371
  12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) +57.674
  13. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) +1:01.424
  14. Michele Pirro ITA Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) +1:01.561
  15. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) +1:04.426
  16. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) +1:11.114
  17. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1:15.249
  18. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1:24.884
  19. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) +1:25.854
  20. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1:25.978
  21. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) +1:26.256
  22. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT) +1:26.610
  23. Ivan Silva ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1:38.173

Not Classified

Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) +16 Laps