Jerez MotoGP Test Results | Nakagami on top as countdown to 2022 starts

Takaaki Nakagami sets the fastest time on the first day of post-season MotoGP testing at Jerez, as five rookies make their debut and Gresini returns

Takaaki Nakagami - LCR Honda

His 2021 season might have ended in the gravel trap on Sunday but Takaaki Nakagami got his preparations for the 2022 MotoGP World Championship season underway in fine fashion with te quickest time in testing at Jerez.

Crossing over from Valencia for two days of post-season testing that begins the countdown towards 2022, Nakagami was on top throughout the day aboard the LCR Honda. 

His best time was set on the 2021 Honda but he ended the day having gotten his first taste of the 2022 RC213V prototype.

Johann Zarco led the expanded eight Ducati Armada of entries on the Pramac Racing machine in second place, just holding off Enea Bastianini, who gave Gresini Racing an impressive third place in its first session with Ducati machinery having split from Aprilia.

Valencia MotoGP finale race winner and 2021 runner-up Pecco Bagnaia was fourth fastest, ahead of top Aprilia rider Maverick Vinales in fifth and Alex Rins in sixth.

Yamaha’s challenge was headed up by Franco Morbidelli, with the Italian and 2021 World Champion Fabio Quartararo sandwiching eighth place Jack Miller, while top KTM rider Brad Binder was tenth fastest.

With five rookies making their MotoGP debut today, Raul Fernandez was the quickest of the quintet in 19th of the 29 riders on track for Tech 3 KTM, while Fabio di Giannantonio followed in 22nd, with Moto2 champion Remy Gardner in 25th.

Marco Bezzecchi and Darryn Binder [pictured above] - making his MotoGP debut having stepped up from Moto3 - in 25th and 27th as the remaining timed riders.

2021 MotoGP Post-Season Test | Jerez | Thursday
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikeTiming
1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 37.313
2Johann ZarcoFRAPramac RacingDucati GP211m 37.356
3Enea BastianiniITAGresini RacingDucati GP211m 37.402
4Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 37.415
5Maverick VinalesESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprila RS-GP1m 37.674
6Alex RinsESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 37.810
7Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 37.884
8Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 38.002
9Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 38.020
10Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 38.086
11Luca MariniITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 38.149
12Jorge MartinESPPramac RacingDucati GP211m 38.152
13Pol EspargaroESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 38.165
14Joan MirESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 38.194
15Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia RS-GP1m 38.207
16Alex MarquezESPLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 38.288
17Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 38.312
18Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 38.598
19Raul FernandezESPTech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 39.083
20Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 39.276
21Sylvain GuintoliFRATeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 39.496
22Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini RacingDucati GP21§1m 39.628
23Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia RS-GP1m 39.727
24Remy GardnerAUSTech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 40.170
25Marco BezzecchiITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 30.732
26Takuya TsudaJPNTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 40.936
27Darryn BinderRSAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 41.749
NCDani PedrosaESPRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC16-
NCStefan BradlGERRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V-