Toby Price wins 2016 Dakar rally

Becomes first Australian to win the Dakar

RED Bull KTM rider Toby Price has won the 2016 Dakar rally after crossing the finish line in Rosario, Argentina, 39 minutes and 41 seconds ahead of second place Stefan Svitko.

Price’s achievement is all the more remarkable because he is the first Australian to win the Dakar in all divisions, and this year's event was only 28-year-old's second attempt.

Chilean rider Pablo Quintanilla finished third on his Husqvarna after battling Antoine Méo and Kevin Benavides for the final podium spot for most of the race but a heavy fall on the penultimate day pushed Méo back to seventh overall.

Following the rest day, Price was able to make consistent progress where his other main competitors suffered, particularly HRC Honda rider Paulo Gonçalves who pulled out after a crash. Joan Barreda also failed to finish after a mechanical failure

Price's victory has also given KTM its 15th Dakar win in a row.

Speaking after the race, Price said: 'To be the first Australian to win the Dakar in all divisions is crazy I pushed the days I needed to push and I looked after the bike the most in the marathon stages.'

The overall top 10 looks like this:

13PRICE (AUS)KTM48:09:15--
25SVITKO (SVK)KTM48:48:5600:39:4100:01:00
447BENAVIDES (ARG)HONDA49:04:0200:54:47-
57RODRIGUES (PRT)YAMAHA49:04:5900:55:4400:05:00
642VAN BEVEREN (FRA)YAMAHA49:55:4401:46:29-
749MEO (FRA)KTM50:06:0201:56:47-
823FARRES GUELL (ESP)KTM50:10:1502:01:00-
948BRABEC (USA)HONDA50:20:4202:11:27-
1045MONLEON (ESP)KTM51:37:0403:27:49-

  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.