This is what a championship looks like

Hill beats Hopkins by 0.006 seconds and takes the title

THIS is the moment the 2011 British Superbike Championship was decided; Tommy Hill pipped John Hopkins to the line by 0.006 seconds and with it, took the title.

Hopkins was still ahead of Hill into race 3, the final race of the day, but Hill needed to beat Hopkins to take the title. It couldn't have been closer.

The 2011 BSB Championship standings look like this:

    Rider    Team    Pts
C    T. Hill    Swan Yamaha    647
2    J. Hopkins    Samsung Crescent Racing      645
3    S. Byrne    HM Plant Honda    625
4    M. Laverty    Swan Yamaha    601
5    J. Brookes    Relentless Suzuki    598
6    R. Kiyonari    HM Plant Honda    526
7    J. Kirkham    Samsung Crescent Racing     210
8    M. Rutter    Rapid Solicitors Ducati    164
9    P. Hickman    Tyco Honda    155
10    G. Mason    MSS Colchester Kawasaki    139

Image from TSL Timing