BSB Silverstone Race 1 Results: Mackenzie holds off Ryde

McAMS Yamaha's Tarran Mackenzie scores his second career BSB win in race one at Silverstone, just holding off a charging Kyle Ryde on the Suzuki

Tarran Mackenzie - McAMS Yamaha [credit: Ian Hopgood]

Tarran Mackenzie has launched himself back into 2020 British Superbike Championship contention as he became the sixth different race winner in seven races at Silverstone.

The Scotsman fought back from 12th position on the grid to pick his way through the order and take victory after overhauling long-time front runner Glenn Irwin with ten laps remaining.

He was still made to work hard for it though after being caught by the impressive Kyle Ryde on the Buildbase Suzuki in the closing stages, the pair crossing the finish line astern.

WorldSBK Comparison | Honda CBR1000RR-R v ZX-10R v R1M v Panigale V4S v S1000RR |

The win is Mackenzie’s second at BSB level for McAMS Yamaha and sees him join both Irwin brothers, Josh Brookes, Christian Iddon and Tommy Bridewell in tasting the winners’ champagne this year.

Behind maiden BSB podium winner Ryde, Jason O’Halloran made it a successful day for McAMS Yamaha in third position, ahead of Glenn Irwin, who faded to fifth but still extended his championship lead to 30 points over Bridewell, who could only manage tenth having started last.

Andrew Irwin completed the top five after ruining his hopes of victory with an off on lap 14, the Honda man finishing ahead of Josh Brookes, Lee Jackson, Christian Iddon, Danny Buchan and Bridewell.

In the overall standings, Irwin commands a sizeable lead over Bridewell, with Iddon heading up his VisionTrack Ducati team-mate Josh Brookes in third and fourth, while Mackenzie’s win lifts him to fifth overall.

BSB Silverstone - Race 1 Results

2020 BSB Silverstone - Race Results (1)
1Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R125 Laps
2Kyle RydeGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSXR-1000R+0.105
3Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha YZF-R1+0.446
4Glenn IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+1.855
5Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+4.362
6Josh BrookesAUSVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+4.944
7Lee JacksonGBRRapid Fulfillment KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+6.293
8Christian IddonGBRVisionTrack DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+7.585
9Danny BuchanGBRRapid Fulfillment KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+7.661
10Tommy BridewellGBROxford Racing ProductsDucati Panigale V4 R+7.797
11Luke MosseyGBRRich Energy OMG RacingBMW S1000RR+7.877
12Bradley RayGBRSynetiq BMWBMW S1000RR+8.103
13Hector BarberaESPRich Energy OMG RacingBMW S1000RR+8.713
14Peter HickmanGBRGlobal Robots BMWBMW S1000RR+16.571
15Ryan VickersGBRRAF Regular & ReservesKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.377
16Taylor MackenzieGBRSynetiq BMWBMW S1000RR+32.466
17Storm StaceyGBRGR MotorsportKawasaki ZX-10RR+32.848
18Tom WardGBRBike Devil KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+33.576
19Graeme IrwinGBRTeam 64 MototsportKawasaki ZX-10RR+49.684
20Brian McCormackIRLRoadhouse Macau by ON1BMW S1000RR+1 Lap
21Bjorn EstmentSWENP MotorcyclesBMW S1000RR+1 Lap
DNFGino ReaGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSXR-1000R 
DNFJosh OwensGBRCDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR 
DNFJoe FrancisGBRLloyds & Jones PR RacingBMW S1000RR 
DNSAlex OlsenGBRGlobal Robots BMWBMW S1000RR