WorldSBK Argentina Superpole Race Results: Rea sprints clear to win

Argentina WorldSBK, San Juan Villicum - Superpole Race: Jonathan Rea clears off for dominant victory from Alvaro Bautista and Toprak Razgatlioglu

Jonathan Rea - kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10RR

Jonathan Rea got his own back on Alvaro Bautista to claim a comfortable victory in a drama-free Superpole Race at San Juan Villicum in Argentina.

After the furore of Race 1 when six riders refused to take part on safety grounds over concerns about an oil slick surface in scorching temperatures, the cooler climes of Sunday posed no such issues ahead of the Superpole Race.

With a full complement of 19 riders lining up this time, Bautista got the jump at the start to lead into turn one, but Rea – conscious of the Ducati’s evident straight line advantage – bullied his way through at Turn 7 and held his rival off at the end of the back straight.

From here, Rea quickly sprinted clear of his rival, stretching the field as Bautista settled into a lonely second and Toprak Razgatlioglu similarly held his own in third. It’s how the trio remained to the finish, giving new champion Rea pole position for Race 2. 

As one of the six riders who boycotted race one, Chaz Davies produced an eye-catching charge from seventh to fourth, dispatching Yamaha riders Alex Lowes, Michael van der Mark – down from second on the grid – and Sandro Cortese in fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

Having started outside the top ten, Leon Haslam and Tom Sykes worked their way up to eighth and ninth at the chequered flag, thus earning them elevated starting positions for race two, the latter just holding off home hero Leandro Mercado, who powered from last to tenth position. Despite this, he starts 19th again for race two.

Jordi Torres got the better of top Honda rider Leon Camier on the final lap for 11th, with Eugene Laverty, Michael Ruben Rinaldi and Marco Melandri completing the points paying positions.

The only DNF was Loris Baz – already carrying a wrist injury – after he high-sided on lap one.

2019 Argentina WorldSBK Superpole Race Results

Argentinean WorldSBK, San Juan Villicum - Superpole Race Results
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR10 Laps
2Alvaro Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+2.140
3Toprak RazgatliogluTURKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+3.682
4Chaz Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+5.549
5Alex LowesGBRPata YamahaYamaha YZF R1+8.322
6Michael van der MarkNEDPata YamahaYamaha YZF R1+9.478
7Sandro CorteseGERGRT YamahaYamaha YZF R1+11.393
8Leon HaslamGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+15.326
9Tom SykesGBRBMW WorldSBK TeamBMW S1000RR+16.704
10Leandro MercadoARGOrelac Racing VerdNatura KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+16.933
11Jordi TorresESPTeam Pedercini Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR+19.519
12Leon CamierGBRMoriwaki Althea HondaHonda CBR1000RR+20.615
13Eugene LavertyIRLTeam Goeleven DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+22.785
14Michael Ruben RinaldiITABarni Racing Team DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+25.670
15Marco MelandriITAGRT YamahaYamaha YZF R1+26.558
16Alessandro DelbiancoITAAlthea Mie Racing Team HondaHonda CBR1000RR+30.148
17Markus ReiterbergerGERBMW WorldSBK TeamBMW S1000RR+42.116
18Ryuichi KiyonariJPNMoriwaki Althea HondaHonda CBR1000RR+42.663
DNFLoris BazFRATen Kate SBK YamahaYamaha YZF R10 Laps