Rea loses pole with three-place grid penalty for Davies clash

Jonathan Rea has lost pole position for race one at Assen with a three-place grid penalty

Chaz Davies, Jonathan Rea, Assen, World Superbike [Credit: Gold and Goose]

Jonathan Rea has lost pole position for race one at Assen after being slapped with a three-place grid penalty for blocking Chaz Davies during Superpole 2. 

The World Superbike championship leader had initially claimed a dominant pole position with a new lap record at Assen but while on his slow down lap he was involved in a close moment with Chaz Davies who was midway through his final qualifying lap. 

The Racing Ducati rider angrily reacted to Rea having felt he was blocked by the two-time World Superbike champion, and duly aborted his final lap, which meant he was unable to improve and would stay third. 

After heated words in Parc Ferme, the incident was picked up by race direction who have hit Rea with a three place grid penalty for blocking Davies. 

Rea will start race one at Assen from fourth place with Kawasaki team-mate promoted to pole position, Davies up to second and Lorenzo Savadori on to the front row for Milwaukee Aprilia.

World Superbike Assen Superpole results:

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 33.715s 
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 34.491s 
3. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 34.666s 
4. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 33.505s 
5. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 34.782s 

6. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 34.880s 
7. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 1m 35.930s 
8. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 35.049s 
9. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 35.283s 
10. Nicky Hayden USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 35.305s 
11. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 1m 35.319s 
12. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1m 35.698s 

Grid positions determined by Superpole 1 results: 

13. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 35.721s 
14. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 35.828s 
15. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 36.363s 
16. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 36.432s 
17. Leandro Mercado ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 1m 36.473s 
18. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 36.489s 
19. Riccardo Russo ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 36.885s 
20. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 36.895s 
21. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 37.510s 

*Rea handed three place grid penalty for blocking Davies during Superpole 2