John McGuinness First on the Road for 2024 IoM TT Superbike, Superstock Races

The starting order for the Superstock and Superbike races at the 2024 Isle of Man TT have been published, with John McGuinness at #1

John McGuinness - Honda Racing

John McGuinness will lead both the Superstock and Superbike fields away and down Bray Hill at the 2024 Isle of Man TT.

Returning this year for Honda Racing UK, McGuinness will return to the #1 starting position that he last held at the 2022 edition, during which he celebrated his 100th TT start.

McGuinness’ traditional #3 position is taken by his Honda teammate, Dean Harrison, who, in turn, hands his usual #2 spot to KTS Racing powered by Steadplan’s Jamie Coward - also riding a Honda CBR1000RR-R SP.

The top five, in fact, is filled by Hondas, as Ian Hutchinson maintains his usual #4 position in Superbike and Superstock as he returns to the Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles team, and James Hillier sets off from the fifth position on the sort-of-new WTF Racing Honda.

Michael Dunlop, who last year raced a Honda for Hawk Racing in Superbike and his own MD Racing machine in Superstock, has not yet confirmed his plans for the 1,000cc classes in 2024, but he will have the #6 starting position once those plans are finalised and published.

Josh Brookes will start from the seventh position on the first away of the two Monster Energy BMW by FHO Racing bikes. His teammate, Peter Hickman, will start from his customary 10th place, while Davey Todd on the Milwaukee BMW Motorrad bike in eighth and Craig Neve on the Bathams Ales Honda in ninth fill the two positions between the FHO teammates.

Conor Cummins, once again returning with the Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles team, will set off from 11th, again his usual position, ahead of David Johnson on the Platinum Club Racing Kawasaki in 12th, and Lee Johnston on the Ashcourt Racing Honda in 13th.

The 14th position is occupied by Michael Rutter, on a BMW M1000 RR for Bathams Ales, but he will only compete the Superbike-class races.

Rob Hodson rounds out the top 15 for SMT Racing Honda, ahead of Dominic Herbertson on the Burrows Engineering by RK Racing BMW in 16th and Gary Johnson in 17th on the Bill Smith Motors Honda. Shaun Anderson returns in 18th place with the Team Classic Suzuki squad, while Phillip Crowe will set off from 19th on a BMW for Nigel Appleyard Agri Wash, and Mike Browne completes the top 20, although his team and bike are yet to be announced.

The full Superbike and Superstock starting order for the 2024 Isle of Man TT is below.

2024 Isle of Man TT Superbike/Superstock Start Order

2024 Isle of Man TT | Superbike/Superstock | Start Order
1John McGuinnessHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R
2Jamie CowardKTS Racing powered by SteadplanHonda CBR1000RR-R
3Dean HarrisonHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R
4Ian HutchinsonMilenco by Padgett's MotorcyclesHonda CBR1000RR-R
5James HillierWTF RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
6Michael DunlopTBATBA
7Josh BrookesMonster Energy BMW by FHO RacingBMW M1000 RR
8Davey ToddMilwaukee BMW MotorradBMW M1000 RR
9Craig NeveBathams AlesHonda CBR1000RR-R
10Peter HickmanMonster Energy BMW by FHO RacingBMW M1000 RR
11Conor CumminsMilenco by Padgett's MotorcyclesHonda CBR1000RR-R
12David JohnsonPlatinum Club Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR
13Lee JohnstonAshcourt RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
14Michael RutterBathams AlesBMW M1000 RR*
15Rob HodsonSMT RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R
16Dominic HerbertsonBurrows Engineering by RK RacingBMW M1000 RR
17Gary JohnsonBill Smith MotorsHonda CBR1000RR-R
18Shaun AndersonTeam Classic SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000
19Phillip CroweNigel Appleyar Agri WashBMW M1000 RR
20Mike BrowneTBATBA

*Superbike and Superstock races only

Find all the latest motorcycle road racing news on Visordown.