Moto2 2011: Qatar Results

Stefan Bradl converts pole position to victory in the opening Moto2 round

Moto2 2011: Qatar Results

LEADING from start to finish Stefan Bradl opened the 2011 Moto2 season in dominating fashion with a win margin of over four seconds.

Starting from pole position the German rider led from the start and was unmatched by the rest of the pack. Andrea Iannone came through the field and fought to second place on the rostrum. The Italian was locked in a four-way battle with Thomas Lüthi and Yuki Takahashi for the podium, with Alex De Angelis coming through in the latter stages to demote the Takahashi to fifth.

Bradley Smith finished as the top rider from the British contingent with Scott Redding and Kev Coghlan both crashing in the opening race, the former remounting to finish 31st.

1. Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing KALEX 40'38.549
2. Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master SUTER +4.330
3. Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 SUTER +5.137
4. Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 MOTOBI +5.925
5. Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 MORIWAKI +6.621
6. Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR +14.217
7. Jules CLUZEL FRA Forward Racing SUTER +14.257
8. Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 MORIWAKI +14.501
9. Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing TECH 3 +18.910
10. Julian SIMON SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 SUTER +19.174
11. Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 PONS KALEX +19.442
12. Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR +20.830
13. Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP SUTER +20.837
14. Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR +20.855
15. Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE HONDA +26.803
16. Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 PONS KALEX +27.295
17. Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team MORIWAKI +28.080
18. Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP SUTER +28.212
19. Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing TECH 3 +34.939
20. Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team SUTER +34.962
21. Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team SUTER +37.982
22. Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR +43.491
23. Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR +43.659
24. Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR +47.476
25. Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B TECH 3 +47.755
26. Javier FORES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 SUTER +50.355
27. Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Ra KALEX +50.544
28. Alex BALDOLINI ITA Forward Racing SUTER +1'04.879
29. Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team SUTER +1'09.672
30. Raffaele DE ROSA ITA Desguaces La Torre G22 MORIWAKI +1'09.781
31. Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team SUTER +1'23.743
32. Nasser Hasan AL MALKI QAT QMMF Racing Team MORIWAKI +1'39.105

Not Classified
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda Singha SAG FTR 20'44.828 155.587 10 laps
49 Kev COGHLAN GBR Aeroport de Castello FTR 12'33.401 154.244 14 laps
93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol SUTER 8'14.422 156.692 16 laps
64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 8'31.044 151.595 16 laps
13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE HONDA 8'31.074 151.586 16 laps
75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 6'22.334 151.971 17 laps

Not finished first lap

Sponsored Content