Dutch MotoGP - Race Results

Race results from the 2019 Dutch MotoGP at Assen, round 8 of 19.
Dutch MotoGP - Race Results

Vinales takes Yamaha's first victory of the season at the Dutch MotoGP, after edging clear of Marquez in the closing stages at Assen.

Rookie star Quartararo, starting from back-to-back poles, spent large parts of the race in the lead but had to shut the throttle during some scary highspeed-wobbles down the back straight.

The Frenchman, still recovering from arm pump surgery, eventually settled into third for his second rostrum in a row.

Vinales and Quartararo chose the hard rear tyre, with Marquez - who extends his title lead over Dovizioso - on the soft.

Rins took the holeshot from Suzuki team-mate Mir, only to fall from the lead on lap 3.

Rossi - who had qualified down in 14th - was also out early after tangling with Nakagami, the Japanese needing medical assistance after their fast Turn 8 incident, but later described as 'okay'.

Jorge Lorenzo was ruled out of the remainder of the Assen event, and next weekend's German round, after suffering fractures to his vertebrae during FP1 on Friday.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Dutch MotoGP - Race Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)40m 55.415s
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+4.854s
3Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+9.738s
4Andrea DoviziosoITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+14.147s
5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+14.467s
6Danilo PetrucciITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+14.794s
7Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+18.361s
8Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+24.268s
9Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+26.496s
10Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+26.997s
11Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+28.732s
12Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+34.095s
13Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+34.181s
14Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+34.249s
15Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+34.494s
16Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+48.357s
17Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+1 lap
 Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)DNF
 Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now