Six former TT winners in Lightweight TT

Farquhar, Rutter, Dunlop all gunning for supertwin glory

THE LIGHTWEIGHT class at the 2012 Isle of Man TT has had over 60 entries, including six former TT winners.

Ryan Farquhar, Michael Rutter, Michael Dunlop, Cameron Donald, Adrian Archibald and Ian Lougher are all former TT winners but they'll be competing against rising talent, including Simon Andrews, James Hillier, John Burrows and Davy Morgan.

Kawasaki's ER-6 is the most popular bike in the class, however Suzuki will be strongly represented by Dan Kneen and Ben Wylie who hope to steal a victory from Kawasaki in the 3-lap race.

The Lightweight TT is being re-introduced to the TT this year. Formerly it was for 250cc two-strokes, however it was dropped in 2005 due to a lack of entries. The lap record stands at 118.29mph, set by John McGuinness in 1999.