BSB 2014: Cadwell Park race two results

Hickman celebrates his debut BSB victory

RAF RESERVES Honda rider Peter Hickman achieved his debut British Superbike victory in race two at Cadwell Park ahead of Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne and race one winner Tommy Bridewell.

Byrne, once again, took the lead from the start just like in race one, but Hickman pounced passing the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki’s rider to take the lead.

Hickman pulled away from Byrne as his confidence in wet increased lap by lap. Byrne couldn’t get close enough to the RAF Reserves Honda of Hickman to even attempt to pass him and instead was forced to settle for second again as the Louth rider took his maiden victory.

Unfortunately for Josh Brookes he was disqualified before race two had even begun. British Superbike rules state that if you crash, you must not re-mount and re-join. However, Brookes crashed at the top of the Mountain on the warm-up lap, re-mounted and joined the grid with the rest of the field to start race two. The Australian was black-flagged and therefore had to leave the race and return to the Milwaukee Yamaha garage.

Buildbase BMW’s Ryuichi Kiyonari also crashed out at the Hairpin after high-siding. Kiyonari was in a comfortable third position before crashing out and after taking no points in both race one and two, the Japanese rider is now unable to reach Byrne in the Podium Points standings.

Milwaukee Yamaha’s Bridewell finished on the podium in third in race two after winning race one and has now secured his position in the Showdown ready for the title fight.

Tsingtao Kawasaki’s Gary Mason finished in fourth – the best result for the Tsingtao Team to date as Tyco Suzuki’s Josh Waters finished in fifth ahead of Halsall Kawasaki’s Jon Kirkham.

Race two results:

1. Peter Hickman GBR RAF Reserves Honda
2. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +3.398
3. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +12.886 
4. Gary Mason GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki +18.282
5. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +24.701
6. Jon Kirkham GBR Halsall Kawasaki +28.781
7. Glen Richards AUS Anvil TAG Kawasaki +29.031
8. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +32.093
9. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki +32.357 
10. Michael Rutter GBR Bathams BMW +33.034
11. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +34.711
12. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +35.722
13. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW +35.867
14. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki +54.563
15. Scott Smart GBR Anvil TAG Kawasaki +1:03.516

DNF. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW
DNF. Martin Jessopp GBR RidersMotorcyles BMW
DNF. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki
DNF. Aaron Zanotti GBR STEL Suzuki
DNF. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
DNF. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Buildbase BMW
DNF. Christophe Ponsson LUX Alstare Bimota

DQ. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha