BSB 2014: Snetterton race 2 results

Byrne does the double at Snetterton as Brookes crashes out

SHANE Byrne did ‘the double’ at Snetterton after winning both race one and two with his team-mate Tommy Bridewell finishing in third – his first podium of the season.

Brookes was on the pace from the start with Bridewell and Byrne close behind. The latter, Byrne, was soon back to leading the pack as James Ellison joined the leading three riders 

After changing positions several times with both riders determined not to finish second, Brookes pushed a little harder and unfortunately high-sided on lap 13, but walked away seemingly uninjured.

With Brookes out of the race, it left Ellison and Bridewell to fight it out for second place. Bridewell had the chance of claiming second after Ellison made a pass, but went wide.

Fortunately for the GBmoto rider he was able to make the following move stick to claim his best position of the second so far, Bridewell third 

Ryuichi Kiyonari finished fourth 6 seconds down on Bridewell with Julien Da Costa finishing in fifth despite crashing out of race one.

Tyco Suzuki’s John Hopkins improved on race one finishing seventh, whilst his team-mate Josh Waters finished in ninth.

Race two results:

1. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki  
2. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +2.164 
3. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +3.631
4. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN Buildbase BMW +9.210
5. Julien Da Costa FRA Honda Racing +13.509
6. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +17.539 
7. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki +17.709
8. Jakub Smrz CZE Milsport Ducati +17.868
9. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +37.868
10. Richard Cooper GBR Anvil TAG Kawasaki +37.941
11. Barry Burrell GBR WD-40 Kawasaki +38.497
12. Ian Hutchinson GBR FXX Yamaha +38.546 
13. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +43.648
14. Michael Rutter GBR Bathams BMW +43.832
15. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki +1:02.607
16. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +1:09.948
17. Jenny Tinmouth GBR TWR Honda+1:11.706
18. Aaron Zanotti GBR AZ Suzuki +1:13.417
19. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki +1:27.547 

DNF. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki  
DNF. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha
DNF. Peter Hickman GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki
DNF. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW
DNF. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki
DNF. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW
DNS. Keith Farmer GBR PR Kawasaki
DNS. Harry Hartley GBR Halsall Kawasaki
DNS. Mitchell Carr AUS Anvil TAG Kawasaki