Indian Chief Custom Contest Announced

The Indian Chief custom build contest will take place at Punta International Courchevel custom bike event in France

Indian Chief Motorcycle Contest

Indian Motorcycle has confirmed that a custom motorcycle contest will be held during the 15th running Punta International Courchevel, France, from July 5 to 7 2024.

The three-day event takes place in the heart of the Alps, and is surrounded by some of the best riding roads mainland Europe has to offer. It encompasses more than 60,000 square metres of outdoor exhibition space and will feature more than 200 exhibitors, plus a significant presence this year from Indian.

As Indian has done at similar events over the years, it will use the event as a backdrop for one of its now famous biker build-off style contests, and the canvas to work on for this year is the Indian Chief. Unlike many other build-off competitions, the Punta International regulations stipulate that the bike must be in fully working condition, running, riding, stopping and turning. And to prove this all contestants’ bikes are to be ridden on the descent to the Alpinium and the ascent to the Altiport during the event.

There are three categories that bikes will fall into: Street Legal, Customers, and Open. ‘Street Legal’ is as it states, and bikes must still be fitted with all the road-legal elements. Customers are allowed to paint their bikes, and can only utilise approved legally accepted parts. ‘Customers’ is open to those who already own an Indian model, and the press release states the class ‘celebrates the artistry of amateur enthusiasts. From subtle modifications to bold transformations’. The ‘Open’ class is reserved for professional bike builders and Indian dealers. The Open category grants participants unrestricted freedom to customise with no limits to what they can change or create.

Bikes eligible for the contest are the Indian Chief, Indian Sport Chief, Indian Super Chief, and Indian Chief Bobber. The Indian Chief Contest is open to participants from France, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Spain, and Portugal. 

More information on how to apply and to take a look at the rules can be found on this link.