WSB 2011: Brno Race 1 Results

Full results and highlights of race one at Brno

TAKING his third race win of the year Marco Melandri held off championship rivals Max Biaggi and Carlos Checa, as the top three were covered by 0.436 seconds over the line after 20 laps.

Lone Suzuki rider, Michel Fabrizio looked to have been able to close the gap to the leading group of three but settled for fourth, Eugene Laverty followed in fifth. The top BMW rider was privateer, Ayrton Badovini who made his way through the pack to finish sixth, with Leon Camier and Leon Haslam in seventh and eighth. The top ten was rounded out by the Kawasaki teammates of Joan Lascorz and Tom Sykes respectively.

1. M. MELANDRI ITA Yamaha World Superbike Team
2. M. BIAGGI ITA Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team 0.241
3. C. CHECA ESP Althea Racing 0.436
4. M. FABRIZIO ITA Team Suzuki Alstare 8.448
5. E. LAVERTY IRL Yamaha World Superbike Team 11.863
6. A. BADOVINI ITA BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team 16.374
7. L. CAMIER GBR Aprilia Alitalia Racing Team 20.075
8. L. HASLAM GBR BMW Motorrad Motorsport 21.399
9. J. LASCORZ ESP Kawasaki Racing Team 21.555
10. T. SYKES GBR Kawasaki Racing Team Superbike 22.330
11. J. SMRZ CZE Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing 22.494
12. N. HAGA JPN PATA Racing Team Aprilia 24.710
13. M. BERGER FRA Supersonic Racing Team 27.958
14. R. ROLFO ITA Team Pedercini 31.724
15. A. LOWES GBR Castrol Honda 31.998
16. M. AITCHISON AUS Team Pedercini 34.771
17. L. LANZI ITA BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team 36.582
18. C. VERMEULEN AUS Kawasaki Racing Team 45.690
19. V. KISPATAKI HUN Prop-tech ltd. 1'28.907
20. S. GUINTOLI FRA Team Effenbert-Liberty Racing 1 Lap

Not Classified
M. BAIOCCO ITA Barni Racing Team
R. XAUS ESP Castrol Honda