WorldSBK Magny-Cours SP Race Results | Razgatlioglu on top late shuffle over Rea

Toprak Razgatlioglu lands a psychological boost over Jonathan Rea after responding to a last lap pass with an overtake for win on the penultimate corner

Toprak Razgatlioglu - Pata Yamaha R1

Toprak Razgatlioglu eked out his advantage at the head of the 2021 WorldSBK Championship standings with a hard-fought third consecutive victory and his second of the weekend in the Magny-Cours Superpole Race.

The Turkish rider looked to be heading for a relatively straightforward win after mirroring his efforts in Race 1 by using his superior confidence under braking to snake the Yamaha beneath the Kawasaki on lap two.

However, Rea continued to shadow Razgatlioglu over the remainder of the race, winding up the momentum before forcing his way through mid-way around the final lap at the tricky right-left Imola chicane.

Nevertheless, Razgatlioglu quickly regained his composure to come out wide on the run down into Lycee before tipping it inside to grab back the lead. Despite a brief ‘do or die’ moment from Rea as he contemplated a robust pass into the final corner chicane, he thought better of it to let Razgatlioglu claim the spoils.

Alex Lowes returned to the podium to avenge the agony of his crash out of the third in Race 1, the Briton planting his decisive pass on Andrea Locatelli on lap one to round out a comfortably ahead of the Italian, who has nonetheless finished no lower than fourth for each of the last ten races.

Scott Redding clawed back some decent points in fifth after suffering a costly fall in race one, ahead of top BMW rider Michael van der Mark, leading Honda man Alvaro Bautista and Chaz Davies, while Leon Haslam picked up the final point for ninth.

2021 WorldSBK Magny-Cours, France | Superpole RACE RESULTS | Round 8 / 13
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R110 Laps
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR+0.352
3Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR+5.634
4Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R1+6.995
5Scott ReddingGBRAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+7.736
6Michael van der MarkNEDBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR+8.471
7Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R+9.867
8Chaz DaviesGBRTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+10.240
9Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R+11.677
10Michael Ruben RinaldiESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+12.035
11Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+12.331
12Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR+12.583
13Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+12.854
14Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti KawasakiKawasakI ZX-10RR+21.949
15Tito RabatESPBarni Racing TeamDucati Panigale V4 R+22.670
16Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R1+25.982
17Christophe PonssonFRAGil MotorsportYamaha YZF-R1+26.442
18Jonas FolgerGERBonovo MGM ActionBMW M1000RR+27.556
19Leandro MercadoESPMIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+30.374
20Loris CressonBELTPR Team Pedercini RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR+33.876
 Isaac VinalesESPOrelac VerdNatura RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR