MotoGP 2015: Indianapolis race results

Marquez brings home Honda's 700th Grand Prix victory

MARC Marquez makes it five wins in a row at the legendary Indianapolis Motor Speedway after a race-long battle with Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Repsol Honda’s Marquez won at the ‘brick yard’ to make it five wins in a row – 2 x Moto2, 3 x MotoGP. Championship leader Valentino Rossi finished in third to maintain his 100% podium record for this season.

Moto3 and Moto2 were declared wet races, but conditions had improved ready for MotoGP and teams were ready with a wet set-up bike incase conditions to worsen.

Lorenzo took the lead into the first corner with poleman Marquez in second. These two made a break from the rest of the field and opening up a second gap by the end of lap 6.

The reigning MotoGP World Champion Marquez bided his time, sitting behind Lorenzo and studying his strengths and weaknesses before finally making his move with just three laps to go into turn 1.

Lorenzo tried to keep up with the younger Spaniard, but couldn’t respond to the pace of Marquez as he took the chequered flag and Honda’s 700th GP win.

Rossi started from 8th on the grid but after a sensational opening lap he was up into fourth and hunting down Pedrosa for the final podium spot. The Italian couldn’t quite match the pace of Marquez and Lorenzo at the front. Rossi finally managed to overtake Pedrosa into turn 1 on lap 18, although they kept overtaking each other until the very end.

Rossi had the advantage heading into the last lap but Pedrosa overtook him into turn 1. ‘The Doctor’ fought back immediately with an aggresive move into turn 2 and made it stick, managing to hold on to cross the line 0.181s ahead of Pedrosa.

Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone was a further 15 seconds back in fifth with Bradley Smith on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 towards the end of the race.

Smith’s team-mate Pol Espargaro was a further 8.627s further back in seventh after he was involved in a battle with CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow. The British rider had dropped down to 11th on the opening lap after almost clipping the back of Smith into turn 1.

Ducati Team's Andrea Dovizioso also ran wide on the first lap and found himself rejoining the race in last place. The Italian recovered and fought back to finish in ninth ahead of the Octo Pramac Racing Ducati of Danilo Petrucci, who completed the top ten.

The Team Suzuki Ecstar GSX-RR’s of Maverick Viñales and Aleix Espargaro were 11th and 14th respectively, with Scott Redding on the EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda finishing in 13th.

Race results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team 41:55.371
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 41:56.059 (+0.688)
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 42:1.337 (+5.966)
4. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 42:1.518 (+6.147)
5. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team 42:16.899 (+21.528)
6. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42:17.122 (+21.751)
7. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42:25.749  (+30.378)
8. Cal Crutchlow GBR CWM LCR Honda 42:26.978  (+31.607)
9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team 42:28.192 (+32.821)
10. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing 42:29.888 (+34.517)
11. Maverick Viñales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 42:34.381 (+39.010)
12. Yonny Hernandez COL Octo Pramac Racing 42:37.186 (+41.815)
13. Scott Redding GBR Estrella Galicia Marc VDS 42:45.580 (+50.209)
14. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 42:55.836 (+1:00.465)
15. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing 42:59.518 (+1:04.147)
16. Nicky Hayden USA Aspar MotoGP Team 43:0.437 (+1:05.066)
17. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing 43:2.312 (+1:06.941)
18. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 43:9.233 (+(1:13.862)
19. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team 43:14.077 (+1:18.706)
20. Stefan Bradl GER Factory Aprilia Gresini 43:15.101 (+1:19.730)
21. Alex De Angelis RSM E-Motion IodaRacing 43:15.253 (+1:19.882)
22. Toni Elias SPA AB Motoracing 43:15.305 (+1:19.934)

DNF. Jack Miller AUS CWM LCR Honda