MV Agusta returning to the Isle of Man TT

WPR to race MV Agusta F4 and F3 at the 2012 TT races

MV Agusta returning to the Isle of Man TT

ICONIC Italian brand MV Agusta will be making a return to the Isle of Man TT Races in 2012.

MV Agustas will be campaigned under the World Performance Racing banner, as the team will race with the new F3 and F4 machines at the TT next year.

MV Agusta have won 34 TT races and taken 61 podiums between 1952 and 1972. The first win came in the 1952 Ultra-Lightweight race, won by Cecil Sandford, whilst the last was the 1972 Senior won by Giacomo Agostini.

While Agostini is the most successful MV Agusta rider at the TT with 10 wins to his name, some of the greatest names in the event's history have also raced on MVs including John Surtees (6 wins), Carlo Ubbiali (5 wins), Mike Hailwood (4 wins) and Tarquinio Provini (3 wins). Other race winners have included Gary Hocking (2 wins) while John Hartle, Bill Lomas, Cecil Sandford and Les Graham have also stood on the top step.

The late Martin Finnegan was the last high profile rider to campaign an MV Agusta at the TT, finishing 4th in the 2007 Superstock TT race, lapping at 125.685mph.

Sponsored Content