BSB 2014: Oulton Park Race 1 results

Byrne remains undefeated after race one, round two at Oulton Park

SHANE Byrne has placed the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki on the top of the podium in race one once again with Josh Brookes in second after setting a new lap record.

Only 0.105s separated Byrne and Brookes as they crossed the line at Oulton Park with James Ellison finishing in third putting pain aside after his crash in qualifying during the first British Superbike round at Brands Hatch Indy which caused a fractured pelvis.

Simon Andrews crashed out at the beginning of race one leading to the several laps being led by the safety car as marshals cleared the track. When restarted, Ellison took advantage passing the Milwaukee Yamaha of Brookes as his GBMoto team-mate Chris Walker crashed out unhurt on lap four.

Byrne continued his lead after the restart with Ellison appearing to close in on Brookes until the GBMoto Kawasaki rider made a mistake and ran onto the grass – luckily able to rejoin without any problem.

Brookes continued reeling in leading Byrne by breaking the lap record, but it was too late to catch the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider who took the chequered flag.  

Race one results:

1. Shane Byrne GBR (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 30:15.190
2. Josh Brookes AUS (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.105
3. James Ellison GBR (GBmoto Kawasaki) +6.183
4. Tommy Bridewell GBR (Milwaukee Yamaha) +8.781
5. Stuart Easton GBR (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +13.285
6. Dan Linfoot GBR (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +19.139
7. Richard Cooper GBR (Anvil TAG Kawasaki) +19.226 
8. James Westmoreland GBR (Buildbase BMW) +23.030
9. Jon Kirkham GBR (Tsingtao WK Kawasaki) +23.878
10. Jakub Smrz CZE (Millsport Ducati) +25.509
11. Michael Rutter GBR (Bathams BMW) +27.631
12. Martin Jessopp GBR (RidersMotorcycles) +33.899
13. Josh Waters AUS (Tyco Suzuki) +33.985
14. Patric Muff SUI (Bathams BMW) +36.411
15. Ben Wilson GBR (Gearlink Kawasaki) +36.489
16. Ian Hutchinson GBR (FXX Yamaha) +43.114 
17. Harry Hartley GBR (Halsall Kawasaki) +49.955 
18. Aaron Zanotti GBR (AZ Suzuki) +50.110
19. Barry Burrell GBR (WD-40 Kawasaki) +51.644
20. Jenny Tinmouth GBR (TWR Honda) +1:06.311
21. Shaun Winfield GBR (Anvil TAG Kawasaki) +1:09.674
22. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA (Superbike City Kawasaki) + 1 lap 

DNF. Ryuichi Kiyonari JPN (Buildbase BMW) 16 laps
DNF. John Hopkins USA (Tyco Suzuki) 14 laps  
DNF. Keith Farmer GBR (PR Kawasaki) 8 laps  
DNF. Chris Walker GBR (GBmoto Kawasaki) 6 laps 
DNF. Simon Andrews GBR (RAF Reserves Honda) 0 laps
DNF. Peter Baker
 GBR (Morello Services PBR Kawasaki) 0 laps