BSB 2014: Brands Hatch Indy Race 1 results

Race one results from the first round of the British Superbike Championship

RAPID Solicitor Kawasaki's Shane 'Shakey' Byrne has won the first race at the opening round of the 2014 British Superbike Championship with Chris Walker in second followed by his GBmoto Kawasaki team-mate James Ellison. 

Josh Brookes claimed pole position yesterday in wet conditions and instantly took the lead at the start of race one despite the drama behind with riders dodging Ryuichi Kiyonari as he stalled on the grid.

The Australian was closely followed by 'The Stalker' Walker as they both battled to take the lead. Unfortunately Milwaukee Yamaha's Brookes crashed out on the seventh lap at Druids after losing the front, but was unhurt. 

Walker took the lead with Byrne swiftly making his way through the field after starting from thirteenth on the grid. A welcomed return back to racing for John Hopkins saw him battling with Ellison for third just before the race was red flagged due to James Hillier's engine blew leaving oil over the track and the racing line. 

A 12-lap restart was announced with Walker and Byrne still battling and changing positions from the start. Rapid Solicitor Kawasaki's Byrne gained the lead with Walker having to fight for second from his team-mate Ellison. 

Ben Wilson made his return back to British Superbikes with a fourth position, a great start for the Gearlink Kawasaki Team who are making their debut in the superbike class.

Tyco Suzuki's John Hopkins held onto fifth place from Stuart Easton who made use of the restart to finish in sixth place - both riders making their return back into British Superbikes.

Tommy Bridewell was the only Milwaukee Yamaha rider to finish in seventh. 

Race 1 results:

1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 9:20.872
2. Chris Walker (GBmoto Kawasaki) +1.615
3. James Ellison (GBmoto Kawasaki) +1.672
4. Ben Wilson (Gearlink Kawasaki) +5.639
5. John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +6.007
6. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +6.235
7. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +6.365
8. Richard Cooper (Anvil Hire TAG Racing)  +7.328
9. Jakub Smrz (Millsport Ducati) +7.398
10. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +7.735
11. Daniel Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +8.814
12. Michael Rutter (Bathams BMW) +8.871
13. Martin Jessopp (RidersMotorcycles BMW) +9.999
14. Patric Muff (Bathams BMW) +10.692
15. Josh Waters (Tyco Suzuki) +10.910
16. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +12.113
17. Lee Costello (Halsall Bike Gear Kawasaki) +12.536
18. Harry Hartley  (Halsall Bike Gear Kawasaki) +13.021
19. Keith Farmer (PR Racing Kawasaki) +13.577
20. Mitchell Carr (Anvil Hire TAG Racing) +14.341
21. John Kirkham (Tsingtao WK Kawasaki) +17.920
22. Aaron Zanotti (GGH/STEL Suzuki) +18.118
23. Ian Hutchinson (FXX Yamaha) +18.342
24. Michael Dunlop (Buildbase BMW) +18.712
25. John Wainwright (Quelch Afterdark Motorsport) +24.805
26. Peter Baker (Morello Racing) +26.521
27. Jenny Tinmouth (TWR Honda) +26.734
28. Rhalf Lo Turco (SBKcity Kawasaki) +30.688

Barry Burrell (Team WD40)
Simon Andrews (RAF Reserves Honda)
Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)