BSB 2012: Brands Hatch results

Kirkham wins in Samsung Honda debut, race two cancelled at Brands Hatch

SAMSUNG HONDA'S Jon Kirkham scored the first victory of the 2012 British Superbike championship after taking the lead from Tyco Suzuki's Alastair Seeley on the final lap.

In wet and cold conditions Kirkham beat Seeley by just 0.136seconds in a dash to the line from the final corner.

The second race was cancelled due to track contamination following a clean-up of a fuel leak in the British Supersport race. After evaluating the track, the riders deemed that the deterioratingcondition of the circuit was too dangerous. The race has been postponed to a later round.

Brands Hatch Race One Results

1. Jon Kirkham (GBR) Samsung Honda 28:48.680
2. Alastair Seeley (GBR) Tyco Suzuki 0.136
3. Michael Rutter (GBR) MSS Bathams Kawasaki 0.750
4. Ian Lowry (GBR) Padgetts Racing 3.023
5. Gary Mason (GBR) Quattro Plant Kawasaki Superbike Team 5.191
6. Tommy Bridewell (GBR) Supersonic Racing Team 6.155
7. Shane Byrne (GBR) Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 6.284
8. James Westmoreland (GBR) Team WFR 8.813
9. Freddy Foray (FRA) Quattro Plant Kawasaki Superbike Team 9.145
10. Josh Brookes (AUS) Tyco Suzuki 9.411
11. Alex Polita (ITA) Jentin Doodson Motorsport 9.627
12. Chris Walker (GBR) Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing 10.192
13. Noriyuki Haga (JPN) Swan Yamaha 11.636
14. Scott Smart (GBR) Moto Rapido Racing 12.169
15. James Hillier (GBR) Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing 15.514
16. Peter Hickman (GBR) MSS Bathams Kawasaki 18.511
17. Alex Lowes (GBR) Team WFR 20.271
18. John Laverty (GBR) Splitlath Redmond 29.925
19. Barry Burrell (GBR) Buildbase BMW Motorrad 31.928
20. Tom Tunstall (GBR) Jentin Doodson Motorsport 32.213
21. Aaron Zanotti (GBR) A-Plant Suzuki 54.151

Not classified
Tommy Hill (GBR) Swan Yamaha 3 laps
Luke Quigley (GBR) GBmoto Racing 6 laps 3 laps
Abdulaziz Binladin (KSA) Moto Rapido Racing 14 laps
Dan Linfoot (GBR) Buildbase BMW Motorrad 17 laps
Luca Scassa (ITA) Padgetts Racing 19 laps
Tristan Palmer (GBR) GBmoto Racing 21 laps
Stuart Easton (GBR) Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki 22 laps
Michael Laverty (GBR) Samsung Honda 0
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR) Hardinge Honda 0
Florian Marino (FRA) Splitlath Redmond 0
Patric Muff (SUI) Supersonic Racing Team 0
Graeme Gowland (GBR) Team WFR 0

Championship standings after round one:
1: Jon Kirkham (Samsung Honda) 25
2: Alastair Seeley (Tyco Suzuki) 20
3: Michael Rutter (MSS Bathams Kawasaki) 16
4: Ian Lowry (Padgetts Honda) 13
5: Gary Mason (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 11
6: Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) 10

Click here for the 2012 British Superbikes calendar