WSBK Laguna Seca - Race results (2)

WSBK Laguna Seca - Race results (2)

TOM Sykes has slashed Jonathan Rea's World Superbike championship advantage with victory in race two at Laguna Seca as the Northern Irishman retired with a mechanical issue. 

The Kawasaki rider has hacked Rea's points lead down to 46 by making the most his chance after Rea pulled out of race two having gone off track while battling for the lead. 

In the restated race two, after Pawel Szkopek caused a red flag after crashing at turn six, Rea jumped from third to first going up the inside of Sykes and Davide Giugliano at the entry of the Corkscrew on lap four. 

Looking to push out ahead Rea ran wide on to the sandy runoff area but was able to continue, albeit running down in 10th place. Half a lap later Rea pulled up to assess his Kawasaki ZX-10R, having picked up a suspected technical problem from his excursion, which ultimately forced his retirement. 

Out in front Sykes maintained his rhythm to fend off Giugliano for his fifth victory of the season to make significant inroads into Rea's points lead. 

With Sykes taking victory Giugliano was forced to settle for second with Chaz Davies in third as the podium finishers were covered by less than a second at the line.

Full race two results from the ninth round of the 2016 World Superbike Championship at Laguna Seca, USA. 

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 21 laps 
2. Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati 1199R +0.209s 
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R +0.786s 
4. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +11.379s 
5. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR +12.219s 
6. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +12.465s 
7. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR +13.705s 
8. Niccolo Canepa ITA Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 +20.449s 
9. Anthony West FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +29.153s 
10. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +33.013s 
11. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR +39.910s 
12. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR +40.059s 
13. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +49.211s 
14. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +51.347s 
15. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +54.783s 

16. Peter Sebestyen POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 +1m 03.249s 
17. Gianluca Vizziello RSA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1m 25.191s 

Did not finish 

Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 5 laps completed 
Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 2 laps completed 

Did not start (after initial race) 

Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1
Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4
Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 
Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR