WSBK 2015: Sepang race two results

Chaz Davies and Jonathan Rea finish 0.009s apart

WELSHMAN Chaz Davies takes the win in an action packed race two at the Sepang circuit in Malaysia.

Race two saw Max Biaggi crash out of contention at Turn 1 as Tom Sykes and Alex Lowes took action to avoid being taken out. Biaggi was forced to retire on lap one whilst Sykes and Lowes crahed out at Turn 9 with 10 laps to go. Lowes recovered to finish 8th whilst Sykes only managed 14th.

Davies attempted to make a break at the front from Jonathan Rea and succeeded as he crossed the line to take his third victory in four races along with moving up in to second in the overall championship standings.

Jordi Torress worked hard consistently lapping in the 2:06s bracket for the majority of race two to claim his second podium finish in his rookie season.

Sylvain Guintoli scored another fourth position, his best weekend of the season, ahead of team mate Michael van der Mark who made up for his race one retirement.

Leon Haslam was sixth on his Aprilia Racing – Red Devils machine, finishing a tenth behind the Dutchman.

As there is now a summer break, World Superbikes return to Europe and track in September. 

Race two results:

1. Chaz Davies GBR Racing
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team +0.091 
3. Jordi Torres ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia  +5.008
4. Sylvain Guintoli FRA PATA Honda World Superbike +13.130 
5. Michael VD Mark NED PATA Honda World Superbike +15.801
6. Leon Haslam GBR Red Devils Roma Aprilia +15.970
7. David Salom ESP Team Pedercini +24.561
8. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +26.526
9. Matteo Baiocco ITA Althea Racing +28.528
10. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven +31.598
11. Niccolo Canepa ITA Althea Racing +33.568
12. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta +34.806
13. Randy De Puniet FRA Voltcom Crescent Suzuki +46.521
14. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing Team +48.964
15. Leandro Mercado ARG Barni Racing +49.865
16. Christophe Ponsson FRA Team Pedercini +1:04.171
17. Gianluca Vizziello ITA Grillini Superbike Team +1:24.837
18. Gabor Rizmayer HUN BMW Team Toth +1:25.068 
19. Alex Phillis AUS Grillini Superbike Team +1:34.051
20. Imre Toth HUN BMW Team Toth +2:0.907

DNF. Max Biaggi ITA Aprilia Racing Team

  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.