WSB 2014: Magny-Cours race 2 results

This isn't F1, so Marco Melandri ignores team orders

IGNORING team orders, Marco Melandri went on to win race two at Magny-Cours in similar weather conditions to race one.

Despite leading for the majority of the race, Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea crashed out on lap 11, but was able to remount and then unfortunately retire in the pits.

With Rea out of the scene it was once again left for the Aprilia duo Melandri and race one winner Sylvain Guintoli to battle it out once again.

Team orders came into play again as seen in race one, but Melandri decided to ignore this to take the win leaving his team-mate Guintoli to take second.

Leon Haslam put the Pata Honda on the third step of the podium, his first podium since Misano 2012, leaving reigning World Superbike Champion Tom Sykes in fourth.

Niccolo Canepa came out as top EVO rider as race one EVO winner Sylvain Barrier crashed out of race two twice, the second one leaving the machine too damaged to continue. Barrier was unhurt.

Race two results:

1. Marco Melandri ITA Aprilia Racing
2. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing +2.689
3. Leon Haslam GBR PATA Honda World Superbike +16.450
4. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing +20.759
5. Lorenzo Lanzi ITA 3C Ducati +46.689
6. Max Neukirchner GER 3C Ducati +58.490
7. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing +1:03.100
8. Claudio Corti ITA MV Agusta +1:24.699 
9. Chaz Davies GBR Ducati Superbike Team +1:27.899
10. Niccolo Canepa* ITA Althea Ducati +1:51.706
11. Fabien Foret* FRA Pedercini Kawasaki +1 lap 
12. Gabor Rizmayer* HUN Team Toth BMW +2 laps 
13. Imre Toth* HUN Team Toth BMW +2 laps 

DNF. Bryan Staring* AUS IRON BRAIN Kawasaki
DNF. Eugene Laverty IRL Voltcom Crescent Suzuki 
DNF. Xavi Fores ESP 3C Ducati
DNF. Jeremy Guarnoni* FRA MRS Kawasaki
DNF. Jonathan Rea GBR PATA Honda World Superbike 
DNF. Sylvain Barrier* FRA BMW Italia
DNF. Sheridan Morais* RSA IRON BRAIN Kawasaki
DNF. Davide Giugliano ITA Ducati Superbike Team
DNF. Geoff May USA Team Hero EBR
DNF. Alex Lowes GBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki
DNF. Aaron Yates USA Team Hero EBR
DNF. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia
DNF. Nicolas Salchaud FRA Dream Team MV Agusta