WorldSBK Many-Cours SPole Results | Razgatlioglu bounces back with sprint win

Toprak Razgatlioglu gets back to winning ways in the WorldSBK Superpole Race at Magny-Cours with a hard fought win over Alvaro Bautista and Jonathan Rea

Toprak Razgatlioglu - Pata Yamaha

Toprak Razgatlioglu recovered precious points in the fight for the 2022 WorldSBK Championship with a commanding Superpole Race victory at Magny-Cours.

After seeing his hopes of a win evaporate with an off while leading early on in race one - leading to a superb fight back up the order to 11th -  Razgatlioglu was in determined mood during the ten lap sprint to prevail in a fight against series leader Alvaro Bautista.

Despite getting a poor start from second on the grid to run fourth initially, Razgatlioglu picked his way past Scott Redding before a evoking memories of last year’s titanic tussle for honours by taking on Jonathan Rea, eventually completing his pass at Lycee on lap four.

Setting sights on Bautista ahead, Razgatlioglu quickly latched onto the back of the Ducati, nosing ahead for the first time at Chateau d’Eau, at the half-way point, only for his rival to use his bike’s speed advantage to blast past on the run to Adelaide.

Nevertheless, after Razgatlioglu surged back through under braking at Adelaide, Bautista’s hopes of glory would come undone at the same corner a lap later when he tagged the back of the Yamaha at the apex, losing momentum to be overtaken by Rea.

Releasing Razgatlioglu into a comfortable lead, he consolidated it to the end for his seventh win of the year.

Bautista and Rea engaged in a thrilling scrap during the lattermost laps, the tussle only being decided on the penultimate corner when the Kawasaki rider’s dive for the position sent him wide and allowed the championship leader to come back through before the line.

Alex Lowes won out in his battle with Scott Redding to clinch fourth, ahead of race one podium winner Axel Bassani, Michael Ruben Rinaldi and Garrett Gerloff, with Loris Baz picking up the final point in ninth.

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Magny-Cours, France | Superpole Race RESULTS

2022 WorldSBK Championship | Magny-Cours, France | Superpole Race RESULTS | Round 7 / 12
PosRiderNat.WorldSBK TeamSuperbikeTiming
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata YamahaYamaha R110 Laps
2Alvaro BautistaESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+1.891
3Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+2.040
4Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR+3.983
5Scott ReddingGBRBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+5.019
6Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+5.690
7Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+6.713
8Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1+11.297
9Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+12.194
10Andrea LocatelliITAPata YamahaYamaha R1+13.092
11Iker LecuonaESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R+13.794
12Philipp OettlESPTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R+14.285
13Michael van der MarkNEDBMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+14.413
14Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+16.345
15Luca BernardiSMRBarni Spark RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+23.491
16Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha TeamYamaha R1+25.030
17Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R+26.046
18Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMWBMW M 1000 RR+28.588
19Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing TeamYamaha R1+28.675
20Leandro MercadoARGMIE Racing TeamHonda CBR1000RR-R+28.837
21Christophe PonssonFRAGil Motor SportYamaha R1+29.338
22Oscar GutierrezESPTPR Pedercini RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+29.476
23Oliver KonigCZEOrelac VerdNaturaKawasaki ZX-10RR+34.839
DNFXavi ViergeESPTeam HRCHonda CBR1000RR-R