Razgatlioglu holds off Davies to top first day of 2021 WorldSBK season

Toprak Razgatlioglu heads up the opening day of the 2021 WorldSBK Championship from Aragon ahead of Chaz Davies and Garrett Gerloff

Toprak Razgatlioglu - Pata Yamaha

The 2021 WorldSBK Championship is officially underway after a length off-season with Toprak Razgatlioglu topping the timesheets at the end of Friday’s two sessions from Motorland Aragon.

Six months have passed since WorldSBK last went green in Estoril, but the first competitive day of the year was very familiar to most since the Alcaniz circuit hosted a large portion of extended pre-season testing.

Even so, Yamaha will be encouraged to see Razgatlioglu top, as well as Garrett Gerloff in third overall given the R1 package struggled versus Kawasaki and Ducati in last year’s two events held there.

Yamaha vs Triumph | Yamaha MT 09 SP vs Triumph Street Triple RS | Visordown.com

Splitting the Yamahas was Chaz Davies, who enjoyed a confidence boosting first day back in action on the GoEleven Ducati, comfortably quicker than his former factory team-mate Scott Redding in event and his successor on the Panigale V4 R, Michael Ruben Rinaldi in sixth.

Alex Lowes was the fastest Kawasaki rider in fourth, just ahead of team-mate Jonathan Rea, who heads into this weekend bidding to reach a ‘ton’ of wins (100).

Coming into the year as the two manufacturers with the most ground to make up, it was a modest opening day for Honda and BMW.

Honda squeezed into the top ten with eighth (Alvaro Bautista) and tenth (Leon Haslam) and tenth, while Tom Sykes split the pair in ninth.

New team-mate Michael van der Mark endured a first day to forget with a huge crash that destroyed his brand-new BMW M1000RR and ruled him out for much of the day.

Elsewhere, Axel Bassani was an impressive tenth as the best of the five WorldSSP graduating rookies, while ex-MotoGP rider Tito Rabat was just behind him in 13th

WorldSBK Aragon - FP1 & FP2 Results [Combined] - Round 1/13

WorldSBK Aragon FP1 & FP2 Results (Combined) - Motorland Aragon, Spain - Round 1 - 
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikeFastest Lap
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R11m 49.952
2Chaz DaviesGBRTeam GoElevenDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.260
3Garrett GerloffESPGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R11m 50.442
4Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR1m 50.498
5Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing TeamKawasakI ZX-10RR1m 50.690
6Michael Ruben RinaldiESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.741
7Scott ReddingESPAruba Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1m 50.780
8Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 50.814
9Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR1m 50.842
10Leon HaslamESPTeam HRC HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 50.907
11Michael van der MarkNEDBMW Motorrad WorldSBKBMW M1000RR1m 50.996
12Axel BassaniESPMotocorsa RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1m 51.231
13Tito RabatESPBarni Racing TeamDucati Panigale V4 R1m 51.245
14Jonas FolgerGERBonovo MGM ActionBMW M1000RR1m 51.285
15Kohta NozaneESPGRT Yamaha WorldSBKYamaha YZF-R11m 51.376
16Eugene LavertyIRLRC Squadra CorseBMW M1000RR1m 51.428
17Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha by BRIXXYamaha YZF-R11m 51.781
18Christophe PonssonESPAlstare YamahaYamaha YZF-R11m 51.952
19Isaac VinalesESPOrelac Racing VerdNatura KawasakI ZX-10RR1m 52.099
20Lucas MahiasESPKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR1m 52.290
21Leandro MercadoESPMIE RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1m 54.965
22Loris CressonESPTPR Team Pedercini RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR1m 55.572
23Samuele CavalieriESPTPR Team Pedercini RacingKawasakI ZX-10RR1m 55.741