Macau GP entry list: Hickman eyes fourth win, Rutter on MotoGP Honda

Peter Hickman will seek a fourth Macau GP win from the last five years, while Michael Rutter seeks to extend his record-breaking success on a MotoGP Honda

Peter Hickman - Bathams BMW

The 53rd Macau GP bookends the 2019 road racing season with star performer Peter Hickman eyeing a fourth win around the streets of the Portuguese colony.

One of the world’s most unique motorcycle events, the mixed discipline Macau GP combines single-seater, touring car and sportscar racing with a two-wheel race.

Having largely dominated on the roads this year, Hickman will look to end his season in style with a fourth victory in Macau, riding his familiar BMW S1000RR under the Bathams banner.

His biggest rival is likely to come from within his own fold as Rutter targets a record-breaking ninth victory having clinched his first success in Macau way back in 1998. Unusually, he will attempt to do so on a detuned Honda RC213V MotoGP machine after he was gifted it by a sponsor last year.

Other notable names on the entry list include Isle of Man TT legends John McGuinness riding a Paul Bird Motorsport-prepared Ducati and Ian Hutchinson on the Team Milwaukee with SMT Kawasaki ZX-10RR.

What’s new at the 2019 Macau GP?

Considered one of the world’s most challenging and adrenaline-filled motorcycle events, not only are the streets lined with barriers but it is interspersed with long high-speed stretches and tight, undulating routes.

For 2019, the Guia Circuit has been revised to accommodate the higher speeds generated by the new Formula 3 cars, while safety standards have been focused on after Sophia Floersch’s headline-grabbing high-speed airborne crash in that race last year.

In all, eight riders have lost their life at the Macau Grand Prix since 1973, the most recent of which was Dan Hegarty in 2017.

2019 Macau GP Entry List

2019 Suncity Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix - 53rd Edition
2Craig NeveGBRCallmac Scaffolding RacingBMW S1000RR
3David MorganGBRDM71BMW S1000RR
4John McGuinnessGBRTak Chun Group by PBM DucatiDucati V4 Panigale
7Gary JohnsonGBRAshcourt RacingBMW HP4 Carbon
8Michael RutterGBRMGM by BathamsHonda RC213V
9Ian HutchinsonGBRTeam Milwaukee with SMTBMW S1000RR
11Dominic HerbertsonGBRDafabet Devitt RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
13Lee JohnstonGBRAshcourt RacingBMW S1000RR
14Andrea Silva PiresPRTBeauty Machines Racing TeamYamaha R1
17Robert KrugerCANMGM by Penz13BMW S1000RR
20David JohnsonAUSTak Chun Group by PBM DucatiDucati V4 Panigale
22Paul JordanGBRDafabet Devitt RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR
26Didier GramsGERG&G MotorsportBMW S1000RR
38Erno KostamoFINMGM by Penz13BMW S1000RR
40Horst SaigerAUTSaiger RacingYamaha R1
44Robert HodsonGBRJGH RacingBMW S1000RR
45Marek CervenyCZEWepol RacingBMW S1000RR
49Raul Torras MartinezESPTorras Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR
54Steve HeneghanIRLReactive PartsDucati V4 S
62Samuel WestGBRPRLBMW S1000RR
65Michael SweeneyIRLMartin Jones RacingBMW S1000RR
71Phillip CroweGBRHandtrans - Lee Jackson - ACBMW S1000RR
74Davey ToddGBRMGM by Penz13BMW S1000RR
82Derek ShieldsIRLBurrows Engineering / RK RacingSuzuki GSX-R1000
88Peter HickmanGBRMGM by BathamsBMW S1000RR
111Brian McCormackIRLON-1 RacingBMW S1000RR
182Xavier DenisFRAOptimark by performanXHonda CBR1000RR