Sepang MotoGP test times - Friday (FINAL)

Lap times from Friday's third and final day of the official Sepang test.
Sepang MotoGP test times - Friday (FINAL)

The third and final day of the official 2019 Sepang MotoGP test saw the fastest ever two-wheel lap around the Malaysian circuit by Petrucci, as fellow Ducati riders Bagnaia, Miller and Dovizioso filled the top four places.

Vinales was best of the rest for Yamaha.

Petrucci suffered a fall while trying the new Ducati fairing. The Italian set his best time with a standard soft Michelin tyre, but the new compounds (one front and two rear, using a new mixing technique) were used by other riders during their best laps and are set to be introduced this season pending a final examination in Qatar.

Petrucci said the new soft was worth 0.3s and expected his record time to be beaten -perhaps by Vinales or Rins - in the final hour.

Yamaha also unveiled a new fairing design on the final day, Suzuki and KTM having done so earlier in the week, with Honda and Aprilia yet to show their hand.

Repsol Honda's reigning champion Marquez was returning from shoulder surgery in December. The Spaniard finished early each day but was still fastest on day one, before Vinales took over at the top on day two.

Jorge Lorenzo, who held the old unofficial lap record, was the only race rider absent from the test, due to his recent wrist injury. However, Aprilia's Andrea Iannone missed the final day (due to his apparent jaw infection) and was replaced by test rider Bradley Smith.

Testing took place from 10am to 6pm.

One more official test, in Qatar, is now available before the season-opening night race on March 10…

CLICK HERE for live updates by…

  1. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 58.239s [Lap 10/32]
  2. = Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici)* 1m 58.302s +0.063s [11/21]
  3. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici) 1m 58.366s +0.127s [12/47]
  4. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 58.538s +0.299s [11/36]
  5. = Maverick Viñales ESP Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 58.644s +0.405s [8/79]
  6. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 58.780s +0.541s [17/61]
  7. = Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 59.022s +0.783s [11/52]
  8. = Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 1m 59.141s +0.902s [8/66]
  9. = Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.148s +0.909s [21/61]
  10. = Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 59.155s +0.916s [9/62]
  11. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.170s +0.931s [4/39]
  12. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 59.180s +0.941s [14/75]
  13. = Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.368s +1.129s [13/57]
  14. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 1m 59.485s +1.246s [9/41]
  15. = Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 59.486s +1.247s [25/53]
  16. = Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1)* 1m 59.497s +1.258s [13/77]
  17. = Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 59.640s +1.401s [15/44]
  18. = Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 59.751s +1.512s [14/57]
  19. = Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* 1m 59.949s +1.710s [9/38]
  20. = Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 2m 0.378s +2.139s [22/36]
  21. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 2m 0.766s +2.527s [9/21]
  22. = Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 0.990s +2.751s [3/56]
  23. ^2 Bradley Smith GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 0.995s +2.756s [54/56]
  24. ˅1 Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 1.020s +2.781s [4/38]
  25. ˅1 Yamaha Test 2 N/A Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.243s +3.004s [3/43]
  26. = Yamaha Test 1 N/A Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.719s +3.480s [5/49]

'Test 1 Yamaha' and 'Test 2 Yamaha' were being used by Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Kohta Nozane and Jonas Folger.

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour

Fastest Day 2 time:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 58.897s

Fastest Day 1 time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 59.621s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Previous unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati 1m 58.830s (2018 testing)

By Peter McLaren