MotoGP 2013: Sepang Results

Pedrosa back to winning wins in Sepang

Dani Pedrosa scored his second successive MotoGP victory at the Sepang circuit in Malaysia this weekend ahead of team-mate and championship leader Marc Marquez. The Repsol Honda riders led home the Factory Yamaha pairing of Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi, while the duelling pair of Alvaro Bautista and Cal Crutchlow came home fifth and sixth respectively.

The race at the front of the field was initially full of excitement, with reigning champion Lorenzo making a lightening start from the second row to lead the early running. It soon became clear, however, that the Spaniard was holding up compatriots Pedrosa and Marquez, and although Lorenzo was valiant in the defence of his position, he eventually had to give best to the Honda pair.

After looking on terms with the leading trio in the early laps, Rossi once again had to settle for another disheartening and distant fourth, while Bautista and Crutchlow provided some of the best racing in what became a rather processional second half of the race.  

MotoGP Sepang: Race Result

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 45.191s
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 40m 47.948s
3. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 40m 51.860s
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 40m 55.542s
5. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 41m 7.340s
6. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 7.492s
7. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 16.055s
8. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 41m 30.302s
9. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 41m 44.455s
10. Yonny Hernandez COL Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 41m 46.608s
11. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 41m 48.856s
12. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 41m 59.447s
13. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 42m 6.794s
14. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 42m 13.167s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) 42m 14.633s
16. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) 42m 14.742s
17. Luca Scassa ITA Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 42m 33.121s
18. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 42m 38.118s

Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) DNF
Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) DNF
Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) DNF
Damian Cudlin AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT) DNF
Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) DNF