MotoGP 2013: Mugello Results

Lorenzo wins at Mugello as team-mate Rossi crashes

Expectations were running high for nine-time world champion Valentino Rossi going into his home round of the MotoGP World Championship at Mugello. Fans of The Doctor would, however only get to see him complete three corners of the 23 lap race before a coming together with Gresini Honda’s Alvaro Bautista saw both riders in the gravel.

Rossi was not the only big name to crash out of the race, as Marc Marquez, who suffered a huge crash down the main straight during free practice, crashed out of a podium position with just a few laps to go despite having a comfortable gap to Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa.

This left it up to Jorge Lorenzo to take a typically calculated victory after muscling past Pedrosa in the first corner. The reigning champion rode supremely from start to finish, and leapfrogs the non-scoring Marquez for second in the championship. Cal Crutchlow took the final podium spot in yet another strong race for the British rider. He was closing quickly on the leaders in the latter stages but didn’t quite have enough to take second from Pedrosa.

MotoGP race results from Mugello, 2013

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 41:39.733
2. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) +5.400

3. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) +6.412
4. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) +19.321
5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) +19.540
6. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) +26.321
7. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Test Team (GP13) +38.144
8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) +39.802
9. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1+40.243
10. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +48.392
11. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) +48.480
12. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) +1:13.708
13. Andrea Iannone ITA Energy T.I. Pramac Racing (GP13) +1:14.601
14. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT) +1:21.249
15. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) +1:25.738
16. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) +1:27.339
17. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT) +1:27.758
18. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) +1:44.424
19. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT) +1:45.227


Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)
Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)
Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)
Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1)
Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V)