Laguna Seca Race Results

Rossi takes a podium as Lorenzo extends title lead

JORGE LORENZO took another step towards clinching the 2010 MotoGP World Championship by winning this year's USGP from Laguna Seca.

The Spaniard triumphed following Dani Pedrosa's exit from the race; the Repsol Honda rider led from the start until crashing out while under pressure for the lead from Lorenzo.

After the race, Lorenzo said this:

"I am so happy to win here at Laguna Seca, it's something I've always dreamed of. I rode so well today, right on the limit and I had to push very hard to stay in touch with Dani. He is always so strong on race day but I knew if I kept the pressure on him then there was a chance he would make a mistake and I would be able to catch him. I'm sorry he crashed but from then on it was very easy for me because I had a big gap from Casey. I really enjoyed riding my M1! I have a big lead in the championship but there is half of the season left and it wouldn't be the first time a rider has lost the title with such a big lead, so we can't take anything for granted. I am really looking forward to some time to relax now after two very busy months. Thanks to everyone in my team for doing a brilliant job."

2010 Laguna Seca Race Results

 1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Fiat Yamaha          43:54.873s
 2.  Casey Stoner      Ducati               + 3.517s
 3.  Valentino Rossi   Fiat Yamaha          + 13.420s
 4.  Andrea Dovizioso  Honda                + 14.188s
 5.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati               + 14.601s
 6.  Ben Spies         Tech 3 Yamaha        + 19.037s
 7.  Colin Edwards     Tech 3 Yamaha        + 40.721s
 8.  Marco Melandri    Gresini Honda        + 47.219s
 9.  Loris Capirossi   Suzuki               + 52.812s
10.  Mika Kallio       Pramac Ducati        + 52.814s
11.  Roger Lee Hayden  LCR Honda          + 1m14.089s
12.  Alex de Angelis   Interwetten Honda  + 1m14.666s


     Aleix Espargaro   Pramac Ducati      28 laps
     Marco Simoncelli  Gresini Honda      18 laps
     Dani Pedrosa      Honda              11 laps
     Hector Barbera    Aspar Ducati       3 laps
     Alvaro Bautista   Suzuki             3 laps