2022 MotoGP Indonesia Testing Results [Final] | Espargaro tops Mandalika debut

The MotoGP riders get to grips with the new Mandalika Circuit in Indonesia for the second round of 2022 MotoGP pre-season testing

Pol Espargaro - Repsol Honda
Pol Espargaro - Repsol Honda

Pol Espargaro set the pace on the first day of MotoGP testing in Indonesia as the 24 riders got their first taste of the Mandalika Circuit ahead of its debut on the 2022 MotoGP schedule.

The Indonesian MotoGP is one of two new events on the 2022 MotoGP schedule - together with the Finnish MotoGP - with the coastal Lombok Island situated getting its inauguration in WorldSBK late last year.

Though difficult weather conditions - plus an unusual spreading of mud - hampered proceedings early on, the surface would dry during the second-half of the day, with Espargaro ascending to the top of the timesheets on the Repsol Honda.

His 1m 32.466secs lap was enough to unseat his brother Aleix Espargaro, and was the only rider to actually go faster than Toprak Ragaztalioglu’s pole winning time on the Yamaha R1 from WorldSBK last year.

After a disappointing start to the year in Sepang, KTM bounced back up the order with Brad Binder securing the third fastest time, ahead of Suzuki’s Alex Rins and Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo, while Ducati’s Jack Miller made it six different manufacturers inside the top six.

Maverick Vinales confirmed Aprilia’s encouraging start to testing in seventh, ahead of Joan Mir on the second Suzuki, with Andrea Dovizioso emerging as the quickest of the independents in ninth. Jorge Martin rounded out the top ten.

2022 MotoGP Pre-Season Test | Mandalika, Indonesia | Saturday [Feb 11]
PosRiderNat.MotoGP TeamMotoGP BikeTiming
1Pol EspargaroESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 32.466
2Aleix EspargaroESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia RS-GP1m 32.937
3Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 32.943
4Alex RinsESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 33.058
5Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 33.108
6Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 33.114
7Maverick VinalesESPAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprila RS-GP1m 33.147
8Joan MirESPTeam Suzuki EcstarSuzuki GSX-RR1m 33.244
9Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 33.245
10Jorge MartinESPPramac RacingDucati GP211m 33.358
11Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 33.394
12Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Energy Yamaha Yamaha YZF-M11m 33.518
13Johann ZarcoFRAPramac RacingDucati GP211m 33.592
14Fabio di GiannantonioITAGresini RacingDucati GP211m 33.683
15Alex MarquezESPLCR Honda Honda RC213V1m 33.700
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 33.748
17Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda TeamHonda RC213V1m 33.776
18Enea BastianiniITAGresini RacingDucati GP211m 33.954
19Raul FernandezESPTech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 33.966
20Luca MariniITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 34.165
21Marco BezzecchiITAVR46 RacingDucati GP211m 34.173
22Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo TeamDucati GP211m 34.318
23Darryn BinderRSAWithU RNF Racing YamahaYamaha YZF-M11m 34.495
24Remy GardnerAUSTech3 KTM Factory RacingKTM RC161m 34.603

Sponsored Content