BSB Silverstone Race 1 Results | Glenn Irwin resists Ryde, Ray for Race 1 win

Glenn Irwin holds off Kyle Ryde and Bradley Ray to secure victory in the opening round of the 2022 British Superbike Championship (BSB) season

Glenn Irwin - Honda Racing [credit: Honda BSB Instagram]

Glenn Irwin swept to victory in the first race of the 2022 British Superbike Championship season opener at Silverstone, holding off a late challenge by OMG Yamaha team-mates Kyle Ryde and Bradley Ray. 

Securing pole position with a well-timed session-topping effort before a red flag halted the session with two minutes remaining, Irwin was in confident form as he got the jump from pole position and held his position to the chequered flag.

A welcome return to the top of the podium for Honda at the same circuit Irwin secured the manufacturer’s only victory of 2021, he was nonetheless pushed hard all the way by the RICH Energy OMG Racing Yamahas.

Switching from BMW to the ex-McAMS Yamaha R1s over the winter, Ryde and Ray kept Irwin honest to the flag but couldn’t lever him aside, despite a gutsy attempt in the final couple of laps. 

Rory Skinner got his second season off to a strong start with a run to fourth on the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki ZX-10RR, keeping ahead of 11-time race winner last season Jason O’Halloran on the sole McAMS Yamaha this weekend. He prevailed in a tussle with Andrew Irwin, Tommy Bridewell and Christian Iddon, the latter bouncing back from a spill in qualifying to secure eighth.

With little more than eight seconds covering the top ten at the flag, Lee Jackson and Danny Buchan completed the top ten, while Peter Hickman, Tom Sykes and Josh Brookes crossed the line just outside in 11th, 12th and 13th.

2022 British Superbike Championship (BSB) | Silverstone | Race 1 Results

2022 British Superbike Championship (BSB) | Silverstone | Race 1 Results | Round 1 / 12
 RiderNat.BSB TeamMotorcycleLap Time
1Glenn IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R24 Laps
2Kyle RydeGBRRICH OMG RacingYamaha R1+0.139
2Bradley RayGBRRICH OMG RacingYamaha R1+0.327
4Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+2.019
5Jason O'HalloranGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R1+3.533
6Andrew IrwinGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+5.436
7Tommy BridwellGBROxford Products RacingDucati Panigale V4 R+5.766
8Christian IddonGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+6.399
9Lee JacksonJPNFS-3 RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+7.937
10Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR+8.234
11Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+9.124
12Tom SykesGBRMCE DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+13.066
13Josh BrookesIRLMCE DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R+13.149
14Ryan VickersGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR+13.890
15Tom NeaveGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+14.419
16Takumi TakahashiAUSHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+18.397
17Danny KentGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+19.603
18Josh OwensGBRRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+19.757
19Luke MosseyGBRTAG RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R+21.397
20Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Car PartsKawasaki ZX-10RR+21.821
21Dan JonesGBRiForce BMWBMW M 1000 RR+23.391
22Dean HarrisonGBRDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+29.163
23Bjorn EstmentSWEPowerslide/CatfossSuzuki GSX-R1000R+29.658
24James HillierGBRRICH OMG RacingYamaha R1+42.500
25Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx SecurityHonda CBR1000RR-R+43.040
26Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000R+43.675
27David JohnsonAUSRiCH OMG RacingYamaha R1+44.029
28Liam DelvesJPNRapid CDH RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR+52.520
DNFRyo MizunoGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R 
DNFChrissy RouseGBRCrowe PerformanceBMW M 1000 RR 
DNFDan LinfootAUSiForce BMWBMW M 1000 RR 
DNFLeon HaslamGBRLee Hardy RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR