BSB Donington Test: Ryde Ends Fastest as Rain Cuts Final Day Short

Donington Park hosts the first official test of the BSB preseason  this weekend, with the BSB Donington Test giving the first idea of a running order for 2024

Kyle Ryde, 2024 BSB Donington Test. - Ian Hopgood

Donington Park hosts the first preseason test of 2024 for the British Superbike Championship this weekend. After topping day one, Kyle Ryde completed a sweep of the two-day Donington BSB test.


  • Day 2 - Ryde completes Donington test sweep as Irwins round out top three

  • Day 1 - Ryde fastest as Yamaha goes 1-2 on opening day of 2024

Day 2

After the afternoon of day one was complicated by high winds, day two was windy in its entirety, and its afternoon running was cut short by rain that arrived around 45 minutes before the end of the final session.

Ryde was one of a handful of riders to set his fastest time of the second day of the test in the final session, and was the only rider in the 1:27s. Second fastest, Glenn Irwin, was half-a-second shy of the #77 Yamaha, while Andrew Irwin completed the top three for Honda.

Credit: Ian Hopgood.

Tommy Bridewell made it a Honda Racing UK 3-4, ahead of Ryan Vickers in fifth. Peter Hickman was sixth, ahead of Danny Kent, Jason O’Halloran on the leading Kawasaki, Christian Iddon, and Josh Brookes, who completed the top 10.

Full results from day two of the BSB Donington preseason test are below.

2024 BSB Donington Test Results | Day 2

2023 British Superbike Championship (BSB) | Donington Park | Test 1, Day 2 Results
 RiderNat.BSB TeamMotorcycleTime
1Kyle RydeGBROMG Grilla Yamaha RacingYamaha R11:27.650
2Glenn IrwinGBRHager PBM DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1:28.173
3Andrew IrwinGBRHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R1:28.467
4Tommy BridewellGBRHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R1:28.530
5Ryan VickersGBROMG Grilla Yamaha RacingYamaha R11:28.609
6Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1:28.664
7Danny KentGBRMcAMS Racing YamahaYamaha R11:28.664
8Jason O'HalloranAUSCompletely Motorbikes KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:28.665
9Christian IddonGBROxford Products RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1:28.943
10Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1:29.065
11Max CookGBRCompletely Motorbikes KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.082
12Dean HarrisonGBRHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.126
13Danny BuchanGBRDAO Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.336
14Lee JacksonGBRMasterMac HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.453
15Alex OlsenGBRCumins by Team IWRHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.585
16Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW Motorrad TeamBMW M 1000 RR1:29.599
17Storm StaceyGBRLKQ Euro Car Parts KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.748
18Tom NeaveGBRStauff Fluid Power KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.921
19Fraser RogersGBRTAG HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.008
20Franco BourneGBRMarvel HCL MotorsportHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.123
21Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.445
22Jaimie van SikkelerusNEDTAG HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.717
23Brayden ElliottAUSDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.719
24Luke HedgerGBRWhitecliffe CDH Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.739
25Lewis RolloGBRIN Competition SENCAT ApriliaAprilia RSV4 11001:33.096
26James HillierGBRWTF Racing HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:34.043
27Louis ValleleyGBRNP Racing Kawasaki TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1:34.494

Day 1

Day one of the BSB Donington test was topped by Kyle Ryde, who led an OMG Yamaha 1-2.

Ryde, now on the official Yamaha UK BSB team in OMG Racing, was fastest in both the second and third sessions in Donington on the opening day, ending with a 1:28.367. For reference, the fastest race lap set last year, when the Pirelli SCX super-soft compound was still in the tyre allocation, was a 1:27.685, also by Ryde.

Just over a tenth shy of his teammate was Ryan Vickers on the second OMG Grilla Yamaha Racing R1, while Glenn Irwin on the sole PBM Ducati rounded out the top three.

Dean Harrison impressed in fourth place on what was his official debut for the Honda Racing UK team. Behind, Leon Haslam completed the top five.
Reigning BSB Champion Tommy Bridewell was sixth-fastest, ahead of Peter Hickman, Jason O’Halloran, Josh Brookes, and Charlie Nesbitt, who completed the top 10 on the opening day of 2024.

2024 BSB Donington Test Results | Day 1

2024 British Superbike Championship (BSB) | Donington Park | Test 1, Day 1 Results
 RiderNat.BSB TeamMotorcycleTime
1Kyle RydeGBROMG Grilla Yamaha RacingYamaha R11:28.367
2Ryan VickersGBROMG Grilla Yamaha RacingYamaha R11:28.484
3Glenn IrwinGBRHager PBM DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1:28.694
4Dean HarrisonGBRHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R1:28.877
5Leon HaslamGBRROKiT BMW Motorrad TeamBMW M 1000 RR1:28.880
6Tommy BridewellGBRHonda Racing UKHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.025
7Peter HickmanGBRFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1:29.093
8Jason O'HalloranAUSCompletely Motorbikes KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.166
9Josh BrookesAUSFHO RacingBMW M 1000 RR1:29.212
10Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.225
11Christian IddonGBROxford Products RacingDucati Panigale V4 R1:29.244
12Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.276
13Danny BuchanGBRDAO Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:29.466
14Alex OlsenGBRCumins by Team IWRHonda CBR1000RR-R1:29.539
15Rory SkinnerGBRCheshire Mouldings BMW MotorradBMW M 1000 RR1:29.660
16Danny KentGBRMcAMS Racing YamahaYamaha R11:29.869
17Max CookGBRCompletely Motorbikes KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.010
18Fraser RogersGBRTAG HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.132
19Storm StaceyGBRLKQ Euro Car Parts KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.546
20Jaimie van SikkelerusNEDTAG HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.658
21Lewis RolloGBRIN Competition SENCAT ApriliaAprilia RSV4 11001:30.841
22Franco BourneGBRMarvel HCL MotorsportHonda CBR1000RR-R1:30.852
23Brayden ElliottAUSDAO RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.859
24Tom NeaveGBRStauff Fluid Power KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:30.909
25Luke HedgerGBRWhitecliffe CDH Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1:31.682
26Louis ValleleyGBRNP Racing Kawasaki TeamKawasaki ZX-10RR1:34.236
27James HillierGBRWTF Racing HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:34.838
28Lee JacksonGBRMasterMac HondaHonda CBR1000RR-R1:39.351

Find all the latest BSB news on Visordown.

Lead image credit: Ian Hopgood.