BSB Donington Park FP Results: Irwin leads way at damp Donington

BSB Donington Park, Free Practice Results - Andrew Irwin leads the way on a damp day at Donington Park, ahead of Peter Hickman and Taylor Mackenzie

Andrew Irwin - Honda Racing

Andrew Irwin topped the timesheets on a damp opening day for Round 11 of the 2019 British Superbike Championship at Donington Park.

Marking the second of three BSB Title Showdown rounds for the championship contenders, the tricky conditions in both FP1 and FP2 ensured a caution first approach from the key riders, leaving them scattered across the timesheets.

With the best of the conditions coming in the closing stages of FP2, Irwin surged to the head of the leaderboard on the Honda to deny Peter Hickman – highest placed title contender in second – and the impressive Taylor Mackenzie, who starred on his Tyco BMW debut having been called up to replace the departed Glenn Irwin.

Championship leader Scott Redding – a triple winner at Donington Park back in May – followed up in fourth position from Christian Iddon, Xavi Fores and the ex-MotoGP rider’s closest rival Josh Brookes.

Second quickest in the wet morning session, Joe Francis ended a strong day with eighth on the PR Racing BMW as Ben Currie and Luke Mossey rounded out the top ten.

Of the remaining Title Showdown contenders, Danny Buchan topped FP1 before sitting out FP2 due to the conditions, while Tarran Mackenzie was down in 13th place and Tommy Bridewell well back in 26th following the second free practice session.

BSB Donington Park Free Practice 2 Results

Donington Park BSB - Free Practice (2) Results
1Andrew IrwinGBRHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR1m 39.210
2Peter Hickman (S)GBRSmiths Racing BMWBMW S1000RR1m 39.413
3Taylor MackenzieGBRTyco BMWBMW S1000RR1m 40.226
4Scott Redding (S)GBRBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R1m 40.275
5Christian IddonGBRTyco BMWBMW S1000RR1m 40.503
6Xavi ForesESPHonda RacingHonda CBR1000RR1m 40.608
7Josh Brookes (S)AUSBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R1m 40.761
8Joe FrancisGBRPR Racing Lloyds & JonesBMW S1000RR1m 40.797
9Ben CurrieAUSQuattro Plant JG SpeedfitKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 40.851
10Luke MosseyGBROMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R1m 41.331
11Ryan VickersGBRRAF Regular & ReservesKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 42.050
12Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YamahaYamaha R11m 42.168
13Tarran Mackenzie (S)GBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R11m 42.595
14Alex OlsenGBRSmiths Racing BMWBMW S1000RR1m 42.623
15Matt TrueloveGBRRacedays YamahaYamaha R11m 42.653
16Bradley RayGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R1m 42.676
17Hector BarberaESPQuattro Plant JG SpeedfitKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 42.747
18Gino ReaGBRBike Devil SwedaMV Agusta F41m 42.761
19Dan LinfootGBRSantander Salt TAG YamahaYamaha R11m 42.810
20James EllisonGBROMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R1m 42.950
21Josh OwensGBRCDH RacingKawsaki ZX-10RR1m 43.317
22Sam CoventryGBRTeam 64 KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 43.427
23Claudio CortiITAWD-40 Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 43.753
24Luke StaplefordGBRBuildbase SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R1m 43.765
25David AllinghamGBREHA YamahaYamaha R11m 43.929
26Tommy Bridewell (S)GBROxford Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R1m 44.002
27Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Engineering RacingKawasaki ZX-10RR1m 44.186
28Shaun WinfieldGBRSantander Salt TAG YamahaYamaha R11m 46.772
29Ashley BeechGBRNP MotorcyclesBMW S1000RR1m 47.196
30Billy McConnellAUSOMG Racing SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100R1m 51.966
 Danny Buchan (S)GBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RRNo Time

2019 BSB Title Showdown standings

BSB Championship Standings (After 1 of 3 Title Showdown rounds)
1Scott ReddingGBRBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R595
2Josh BrookesAUSBe Wiser Ducati PBMDucati Panigale V4 R581
3Tommy BridewellGBROxford Racing DucatiDucati Panigale V4 R544
4Danny BuchanGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiKawasaki ZX-10RR540
5Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YamahaYamaha R1527
6Peter HickmanGBRSmiths Racing BMWBMW S1000RR517