BSB 2014: Brands Hatch race 1 results

Howie Mainwaring wins his first ever British Superbike race

TITLE contender Shane Byrne crashed out of the first of three races of the final British Superbike round of 2014, allowing Howie Mainwaring to take his first win. 

Byrne took the lead followed by Josh Brookes and pole position sitter James Ellison, but it wasn't long before Quattro Plant Kawasaki's Dan Linfoot made a move at Westfield to put himself ahead of the Cumbrian rider. 

Linfoot was on a mission, pushing himself ahead of the championship leader. Tyco Suzuki's Josh Waters made his way through the field putting himself ahead of the two Milwaukee Yamaha's of Brookes and Tommy Bridewell. 

It was on lap seven that Byrne crashed out at Clarke Curve, meaning he had to remain at the sidelines just like injured contender Ryuichi Kiyonari. 

The leading group consisted of two Quattro Plant Kawasaki's of Mainwaring and Linfoot along with Waters and Halsall Biker Gear Kawasaki's Jon Kirkham. 

Mainwaring was able to hold off Waters despite him putting on the pressure. Elbows were out on the final two laps as Mainwaring crossed the line only 0.047s ahead of Waters. Kirkham took his first podium finish with the Halsall team leaving Linfoot in fourth. 

Speaking about his maiden win, Mainwaring said: 'I'm pretty emotional to be honest with you; it's been a long time coming. We've done it in Superstock but I've never had too much luck in Superbike before.

'We've come back from that so everything's sort of fell in place this weekend and the team have worked really hard and I can't really thank them enough. Everyone sort of believed in us and we've done the job this weekend and it's come together.

'The bike's really felt like my own all weekend in every session we've done. It's been a fantastic race. I like riding with Josh [Waters], we've had some good battles when it's been them sort of conditions so I am really pleased.'

Race one results:

1. Howie Mainwaring GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki
2. Josh Waters AUS Tyco Suzuki +0.047 
3. Jon Kirkham GBR Halsall Kawasaki +2.390
4. Dan Linfoot GBR Quattro Plant Kawasaki +4.297
5. Tommy Bridewell GBR Milwaukee Yamaha +14.219
6. Stuart Easton GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki +20.018
7. James Ellison GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +20.156
8. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee Yamaha +21.737
9. James Westmoreland GBR Buildbase BMW +22.337
10. Chris Walker GBR GBmoto Kawasaki +30.339
11. Gary Mason GBR Tsingtao WK Kawasaki +31.109
12. Ben Wilson GBR Gearlink Kawasaki +43.068
13. Peter Hickman GBR RAF Reserves Honda +45.441
14. Jakub Smrz CZE Moto Rapido Ducati +53.540
15. Julien Da Costa FRA Honda Racing +1:32.482 
16. Bryan Staring AUS WD-40 Kawasaki +1:32.938
17. Robbin Harms DEN MotoDex BMW +1:35.482
18. Jed Metcher AUS PR Kawasaki +1 lap
19. Jenny Tinmouth GBR TWR Honda +1 lap
20. Christophe Ponsson LUX Alstare Bimota +1 lap
21. Rhalf Lo Turco BRA SBK City Kawasaki +1 lap

DNF. Patric Muff SUI Bathams BMW
DNF. Shane Byrne GBR Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki
DNF. Shaun Winfield GBR Anvil TAG Kawasaki
DNF. John Hopkins USA Tyco Suzuki
DNF. John Ingram GBR Morello Services PBR Kawasaki
DNF. Filip Backlund SWE FXX Yamaha
DNF. Martin Jessopp GBR RidersMotorcyles BMW