BSB 2013: Silverstone Race Results

Byrne and Lowes in a league of their own

Silverstone hosted the penultimate round of the British Superbike Championship this weekend (4-6 October). Shane Byrne and Alex Lowes came into the event separated by just a single championship point following an incident filled Assen contest, and the two were once again inseparable in terms of outright pace at the home of British motor sport.

A huge highside for Byrne during free practice threw his entire weekend into doubt, but incredibly the triple BSB champion rode through the pain barrier to line up second on the grid behind Lowes for race one. The two were inseparable around the iconic grand prix circuit, but it was the Samsung Honda rider that came out on top despite the best efforts of Byrne.

The winning margin of 0.094s had the Silverstone crowd on its feet, but the spectators were to be treated to an even closer finish in race two. Byrne and Lowes were once again in a class of their own at the front and after scoring a superb podium in race one it was Milwaukee Yamaha’s Tommy Bridewell who was once again the best of the rest.

At half race distance it looked as though Lowes had the measure of his more experienced adversary, but the closing stages once again saw an intense battle between the two. Lowes led going into the final turn, but Byrne squared off the last part of Luffield to get the best possible run to the line. This allowed the Kawasaki to edge ahead by just 0.012s leaving the championship standings exactly as they had been at the start of the event. The two riders go to Brands Hatch separated by just a single point, and we are sure to see another incredible end to the BSB season in two weeks’ time.

BSB Silverstone:

Race 1 result

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +0.094s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +8.372s
  4. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +8.605s
  5. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +14.407s
  6. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +15.568s
  7. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +20.292s
  8. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +21.619s
  9. Matteo Baiocco (Rapido Sport Racing Ducati) +23.918s
  10. Barry Burrell (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +30.307s

Race 2 result

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)
  2. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda) +0.012s
  3. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +3.686s
  4. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +6.916s
  5. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +7.507s
  6. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +7.597s
  7. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +14.060s
  8. Matteo Baiocco (Rapido Sport Racing Ducati) +22.419s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +23.609s
  10. Jakub Smrz (Padgetts Honda) +26.118s