BSB 2013: Cadwell Park Race Results

Lowes gets double mountain-top in bank holiday races

ALEX LOWES wowed his home crowd at Cadwell Park this bank holiday weekend, taking pole by over half a second and then both race wins. 

In race one championship leader Shane Byrne made the best start but didn't hold onto the lead for long, as the pole-sitting Samsung Honda got back through and held onto the lead from Byrne to the flag. There was a close battle for third between Milwaukee Yamaha's James Ellison and the Tyco Suzuki of Josh Brookes, with the position eventually going to Brookes as Ellison made a mistake and on lap 14 and crashed out of the race. This promoted Tommy Bridewell to a strong fourth position on the Halsall Racing Kawasaki – with his fastest lap time also good enough for a front row start in the second race. 

Lowes once again took charge as the lights went out for the second time, and he led an impressive train of five bikes at a storming pace for much of the contest. Drama came late on when Josh Brookes made a bid for glory on the final lap, passing Lowes at Park corner. He looked to have made the position stick, but just a few corners later pushed too hard and crashed out of the race, handing the victory back to a jubliant Lowes ahead of an emotional Tommy Bridewell and James Ellison. 

British Superbikes: Cadwell Park Results

Race one:

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
  2. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +1.056s
  3. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki) +1.969s
  4. Tommy Bridewell (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +4.626s
  5. PJ Jacobsen (Tyco Suzuki) +14.827s
  6. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +16.040s
  7. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +16.213s
  8. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +19.183s
  9. Keith Farmer (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +28.682s
  10. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +29.267s

Race two:

  1. Alex Lowes (Samsung Honda)
  2. Tommy Bridewell (Halsall Racing Kawasaki) +0.892s
  3. James Ellison (Milwaukee Yamaha) +4.371s
  4. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +6.375s
  5. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Samsung Honda) +9.787s
  6. Chris Walker (Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki) +16.095s
  7. Peter Hickman (Lloyds British GBmoto Honda) +16.197s
  8. Josh Waters (Milwaukee Yamaha) +17.379s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +29.029s
  10. Jon Kirkham (Buildbase BMW) +31.420s