Aprilia, BMW and KTM join BSB for 2010

Eight manufacturers to fight it out for this year's BSB crown

THE 2010 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship will feature three new manufacturers when the season gets underway on Easter weekend at Brands Hatch.

Entries from Aprilia, BMW and KTM now boost the number of manufacturers represented in the series to eight.

There will also be a two-pronged Aprilia assault in the inaugural BSB Evolution (Evo) class with Splitlath Motorsport confirming that brothers Chris and Joe Burns will line up on the Superbike grid on a pair of Aprilia RSV4s.

German manufacturer BMW enters BSB for the first time following their debut season in the World Superbike Championship in 2009, officially supporting the Jentin Racing team. The Jentin Racing BMW squad will run a two rider team onboard the BMW S1000 RR with Steve Brogan aiming for the Evo title whilst Richard Cooper will be seeking championship glory in the Metzeler National Superstock 1000 Championship.

KTM also recently announced their entry into the championship with Redline KTM progressing to the BSB Evo class with James Edmeades on the KTM RC8.