Torrens Trophy contenders announced

The Royal Automobile Club has revealed the contenders for the coveted 2019 Torrens Trophy

Torrens Trophy

THE contenders for the 2019 Torrens Trophy have been announced with Peter Hickman, Scott Redding and Triumph Motorcycles all being in with a shout of lifting the coveted award.

The Torrens Trophy is handed out each year to an individual or organisation who has made an outstanding contribution to cause of safe and skillful motorcycling, technical excellence to further the cause the motorcycling and to those who have shown outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

Barrie Baxter, Chairman of the Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee said, “We are delighted to join forces with Motorcycle Live once again. It seems only appropriate to announce the contenders of one of the most prestigious industry trophies at the UK’s biggest motorcycle show”.

This year’s nominees have all made significant a significant impact on the UK and worldwide racing scene – with Peter Hickman’s three TT wins, Scott Redding’s BSB championship in just his first year and Triumph’s highly successful first year as Moto2 engine supplier.

The Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee consists of Chairman and ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, Royal Automobile Club Chairman Ben Cussons, well-respected motorcycle journalist and TT winner Mat Oxley, commentator and former racer Steve Parrish, Club member Richard Bourne (son of motorcycle journalist, Arthur Bourne, in memory of whom the Trophy is awarded) and Queen of Bikers Maria Costello BME who has held the Guinness World Record for being the fastest woman to lap the Isle of Man TT course.

What is the Torrens Trophy?

The Royal Automobile Club (RAC) formed the Auto-Cycle Club in 1903, which went on to become the Auto Cycle Union in 1947.  The first motorcycle race was held on the Isle of Man in 1905 for cars - two years before the first Tourist Trophy for motorcycles took place.

The Torrens Trophy recognises an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of safe and skillful motorcycling in the United Kingdom OR to have made an outstanding contribution of technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling in the UK OR to have shown outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

The Torrens Trophy was first awarded in 1978 in memory of Arthur Bourne, a motorcycling journalist who wrote a column under the name Torrens. Arthur Bourne was also a Vice-Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club. It has only been awarded 11 times in its history and only when the Club feels that the achievement justifies it.

Previous winners of the Torrens Trophy include:

  • 2018 Tai Woffinden for being the most successful British speedway rider in history
  • 2017 Jonathan Rea MBE for being the first rider to win three consecutive World Superbike Championships
  • 2016 MotoGP racer Cal Crutchlow for being first British rider to win a premier class World Championship Motorcycle Grand Prix in 35 years
  • 2015 Eleven-time TT winner Ian Hutchinson for his outstanding determination, courage and overcoming adversity to win multiple TTs
  • 2014 Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne for becoming the first man in history to be crowned MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship on four occasions (2003, 2008, 2012 and 2014)
  • 2013 Tom Sykes for being crowned the 15th World Superbike Champion, the fourth from Great Britain and only the second rider to win for Kawasaki in the series for 20 years
  • 2008 World Superbike Champion James Toseland was awarded the Trophy for his immense contribution to raising the profile of motorcycle racing in this country
  • 1998 Ian Kerr MBE of the Metropolitan Police for 20-years of tireless work in promoting safe and responsible motorcycling
  • 1989 BMW in recognition for their contribution to motor cycle safety through their development of their anti-lock braking system
  • 1981 Dave Taylor MBE for his vast contribution to motorcycle road safety
  • 1980 Transport and Road Laboratory
  • 1979 Lieutenant-Colonel Fredrick Lovegrove OBE