Sam Sunderland awarded Segrave Trophy

In 2017 Sunderland became the first Briton to win the gruelling Dakar rally

Sam Sunderland awarded Segrave Trophy

SAM Sunderland has been awarded the prestigious Segrave Trophy in recognition of being the first Brit to win the Dakar.

The 29-year-old is the ninth motorcyclist to receive the Trophy, which was commissioned in 1930 by Lady Segrave in memory of her husband, the British pilot and pre-war racing driver, Sir Henry Segrave.

Instead of being an annual event, the Trophy is only awarded if the Segrave Nominations Committee judge there to be a suitable recipient that displays ‘outstanding skill, courage and initiative on land, water and in air – the Spirit of Adventure’.

Sunderland’s effort at the 2017 Dakar was enough to secure him a spot on the honours list, and he received the accolade at an awards ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club on Tuesday, May 1st.

Sam Sunderland Segrave Trophy

The KTM rider commented: “I’m absolutely honoured to receive this prestigious award from the Royal Automobile Club. I am so proud to have my name alongside so many of my racing heroes like John Surtees, Barry Sheene and Joey Dunlop. I have huge respect for everyone who has been a part of the Trophy’s history.”

Tom Purves, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, added: “Lady Segrave commissioned the Trophy in 1930, soon after her husband, Sir Henry Segrave died after breaking the water speed record on Lake Windermere.

“It was her wish that the Trophy would celebrate British nationals who demonstrated outstanding skill, courage and initiative ‒ the spirit of adventure ‒ whether on land, sea or in the air and we are delighted to award the Trophy to Sam Sunderland.

“It is our honour to pay tribute to Sam’s remarkable achievement in what is considered the world’s toughest endurance race. Sam’s bravery, speed, navigation skills and adaption to temperatures, terrain and altitude are all the qualities that Lady Segrave wished to celebrate and Sir Henry would have admired.”

Other motorcyclists to have received the trophy include: John McGuinness (2016), John Surtees CBE (2012), Joey Dunlop OBE (2000 posthumously), Carl Fogarty MBE (1994), Steve Webster MBE (1991), Mike Hailwood MBE GM (1979), Barry Sheene MBE (1977 and 1984) and Geoff Duke OBE (1951).