Dakar 2017: Sunderland closes in on victory

Gonçalves denied stage win as Barreda is awarded extra time

Dakar 2017: Sunderland closes in on victory

PAULO Gonçalves was denied his first stage win of this year’s Dakar yesterday as Joan Barreda was given back three minutes of race time due to obstruction by spectactors.

It meant Barreda took the stage win but did little to dent Sam Sunderland’s overall lead of 30 minutes.

The British KTM rider (pictured) finished the stage with his maiden Dakar Rally victory appearing with grasp, with Matthias Walkner moving in on runner-up spot and Gerard Farres and Van Beveren close behind.

Top 10 overall after Stage 11:

1. Sam Sunderland (KTM) 31h34m11s

2. Matthias Walkner (KTM) +33m9s

3. Gerard Farres (KTM) +37m22s

4. Adrien van Beveren (Yamaha) +38m10s

5. Joan Barreda (Honda) +44m32s

6. Paulo Gonçalves (Honda) +52m46s

7. Pierre-Alexandre Renet (Husqvarna) +56m1s

8. Franco Caimi (Honda) +1h40m53s

9. Helder Rodrigues (Yamaha) +2h0m46s

10. Joaquim Rodrigues (Hero) +2h20m53s

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now