Rea edges Sykes for Assen double

Jonathan Rea has clinched a third consecutive double race victory at Assen

Jonathan Rea has clinched a third consecutive double race victory at Assen after beating Kawasaki team-mate Tom Sykes to the line by less than one tenth of a second. 

The defending World Superbike champion produced a hallmark charge through the field having started from ninth and it took just three laps until he was in the lead by passing Milwaukee Aprilia's Eugene Laverty. 

Sykes followed Rea through with the Northern Irish rider quickly building a one second lead, only to see it scratched out when he ran wide by high winds at turn 10. 

Sykes was able to keep close to Rea but was unable to carve out a clear passing opportunity at the iconic Dutch track. 

In the sprint to the finish line through the final chicane, Sykes pulled alongside his team-mate but missed out on a first win of the season by 0.025s. 

Rea's dominance at Assen has continued with his seventh straight win in the Netherlands to extend his total to 11 race wins – just one behind the all-time wins record of 12 held by Carl Fogarty. 

With a third double victory in 2017 Rea has now claimed seven wins in the opening eight races to extend his World Superbike championship lead to 64 points on Sykes. 

Behind the front two Chaz Davies, who was cruelly denied a last-lap duel for the win in race one, lost the pace of the front two having started 10th on the grid and despite a relatively untroubled race he finished five seconds back in third for the Racing Ducati.

Full World Superbike race two results at Assen:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 22 laps 
2. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 0.025s 
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R +5.077s 
4. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 +8.739s 
5. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +16.244s 

6. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +17.899s 
7. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +19.026s 
8. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +19.184s 
9. Nicky Hayden USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +21.475s 
10. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +24.693s 
11. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +26.751s 
12. Leandro Mercado ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +26.924s 
13. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +36.611s 
14. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R +40.597s 
15. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +49.140s 

16. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +51.241s 
17. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR +1m 00.000s 
18. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1m 00.000s 

Did not finish 

Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4
Riccardo Russo ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1
Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati 1199R

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos