Rea closes in on World Superbike title after Portimao double

Jonathan Rea has enjoyed a dominant double victory at Portimao.

Jonathan Rea enjoyed a dominant double victory at Portimao to put one hand on a third consecutive World Superbike championship.

The Kawasaki Racing Team rider produced another flawless performance to carve his way from the reversed grid ninth place to lead on lap two before quickly building a gap out front.

Chaz Davies climbed up to second on lap seven passing Eugene Laverty, at which point Rea was long gone, and looked settle on the runner-up spot until he crashed out at turn two with three laps to go.

With Rea clinching an 11th race win of the season the Northern Irish rider can clinch the world title with victory in the Magny-Cours opener to make World Superbike history with a third consecutive crown.

While Davies crashed out it meant the injured Tom Sykes holds on to second place in the World Superbike championship standings having missed the Portimao races with a dislocated and fractured finger.

Michael van der Mark profited from Davies’s fall to take his maiden podium for Pata Yamaha with second place as he prepares for his MotoGP debut as Valentino Rossi’s replacement at Aragon.

Marco Melandri held off Laverty in an intense battle for the final rostrum spot as it marked the Milwaukee Aprilia rider’s best result of the season. Jordi Torres impressed for Althea BMW with fifth place ahead of Lorenzo Savadori and IodaRacing Aprilia’s Leandro Mercado.

Anthony West was promoted to eighth place for Puccetti Kawasaki ahead of Ayrton Badovini on the Grillini Kawasaki as Takumi Takahashi rescued a result for Red Bull Honda by finishing 10th.


Full WorldSBK race two results from Portimao:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 20 laps

2. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 +5.834s

3. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R +9.201s

4. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +12.792s

5. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +15.943s

6. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +19.359s

7. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +23.286s

8. Anthony West AUS Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR +36.982s

9. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +48.544s

10. Takumi Takahashi JPN Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +50.000s

11. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +51.944s

12. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 +56.705s

13. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R +1m

14. Riccardo Russo ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +1 lap

15. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR +4 laps


Did not finish

Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R

Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR

Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1

Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR


Ruled out by injury

Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2

Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos