Rea claims Assen win after Davies breaks down

Jonathan Rea has clinched his sixth race win from seven races in the 2017 World Superbike championship

Jonathan Rea has clinched his sixth race win from seven races in the 2017 World Superbike championship and avoided a last-lap duel with Chaz Davies after his Racing Ducati suffered a mechanical issue on the penultimate lap at Assen.

Rea, who was relegated to row two from pole position after picking up a penalty with for blocking Davies in qualifying, slotted in behind the Welsh rider after the opening lap tussles and never let his title rival create a gap over the middle third of the race.

With late race pace being key to victory between Rea and Davies, the two-time World Superbike champion made a telling move at the start of the penultimate lap as Davies ran wide around turn three and four.

Davies looked set to bite back on the final lap but heading through the chicane to start the last lap his Racing Ducati suffered a terminal technical fault and stopped on the start/finish straight.

Davies' stop allowed Rea to escape to victory and extend his championship lead to 59 points with Tom Sykes in second and Marco Melandri picking up an unlikely podium albeit 17 seconds off the pace.

World Superbike Assen race one results:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 21 laps 
2. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +4.501s 
3. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati 1199R +17.673s 
4. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R +22.569s 
5. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +30.797s 

6. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +33.530s 
7. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +39.176s 
9. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +39.254s 
8. Leandro Mercado ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +39.266s 
10. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +41.493s 
11. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R +43.623s 
12. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R +48.218s 
13. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR +49.487s 
14. Nicky Hayden USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +50.016s 
15. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1m.000s+ 
16. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1m.000s+ 

Did not finish 

Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R 
Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 
Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 
Riccardo Russo ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1
Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now