Rea breaks WSBK points record with Qatar double

​Jonathan Rea has taken the World Superbike points record with his double victory in Qatar

Jonathan Rea has taken the World Superbike points record with his double victory in Qatar to bring his campaign total to 556 points to surpass Colin Edwards’ record.

The three-time World Superbike champion has completed a record-breaking year with yet another double victory, equalling Carl Fogarty and Troy Bayliss for most doubles in a season, while beating Edwards’ points record of 552 thanks to his Losail International Circuit double to push his total to 556 for the year.

Rea made light work of carving his way to the front having followed Chaz Davies for the opening laps. After darting into the lead on lap four when Davies had a huge moment which almost threw him off his Racing Ducati, the 2017 champion eased out a slender advantage but looked comfortable throughout.

Davies’ main focus was on securing the runner-up spot in the World Superbike championship having taken a 10-point advantage on Tom Sykes in the Qatar opener. His task was effectively completed on lap four when Sykes low-sided off at turn 14 to hand Davies second place in the riders’ championship.

With Davies second, Pata Yamaha duo Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark made up for their double DNF in Friday’s race by finishing third and fourth respectively in the 2017 finale.

Behind the factory Yamaha pair Xavi Fores got the better of Racing Ducati’s Marco Melandri for fifth place, while Eugene Laverty won a race-long tussle with Sylvain Guintoli for Milwaukee Aprilia to take seventh.

Leon Camier led home Roman Ramos and Raffaele De Rosa on his final appearance for MV Agusta in ninth, while Jake Gagne backed up his impressive race one result with another 12th place for Red Bull Honda. Alessandro Andreozzi, Ondrej Jezek and Roberto Rolfo completed the points finishers as Jeremy Guarnoni ended the race two laps down.

Full race two results from Qatar WorldSBK:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 17 laps

2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R +1.961s

3. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +4.185s

4. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 +5.843s

5. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R +8.987s

6. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R +14.675s

7. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +16.251s

8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR +19.675s

9. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +20.607s

10. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR +20.628s

11. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR +26.043s

12. Jake Gagne USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +32.656s

13. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 +41.197s

14. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +41.844s

15. Roberto Rolfo ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +47.116s

16. Jeremy Guarnoni FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +2 laps

Did not finish:

Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4

Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR

Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR

Did not start:

Davide Giugliano ITA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos