Provisional 2016 WSBK calendar announced

Lausitzring and Monza make a return, no Portugal or Moscow

THE provisional calendar for the 2016 World Superbike championship has been released with Lausitzring and Monza making a return. 

The calendar is sill subject to change but at the moment it sees the season begin as usual at Phillip Island, following a two-day pre-season test.

Following Phillip Island is the Thai round at the Chang International Circuit before the series get to Europe.

Aragon, Assen, Imola are the three rounds before the WSBK teams fly to Sepang in May, then back again for the British round and then onto Laguna Seca in July. The race at Laguna Seca is only for the superbikes. 

Jerez and Magny-Cours have swapped in comparison to 2015's calendar, meaning Jerez is now the penultimate round of the season with Qatar rounding off the season n October. 

The Lausitzring is back and will take place on 19th September just after Monza which has also been re-introduced, subject to safety homologation. 

The summer break in 2016 is almost two months long with the Italian round in Misano set to be near the end of July. 

Portimao hasn't made an appearance on the 2016 calendar and it appears, to the relief of many riders and teams, that Moscow will not be making a return. 

The 2016 Motul FIM Superbike World Championship calendar is as follows:

1. 28th February – Phillip Island GP Circuit, Australia 

2. 13th March – Chang International Circuit, Thailand

3. 3rd April – MotorLand Aragón, Spain

4. 17th April – TT Circuit Assen, The Netherlands

5. 1st May – Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola, Italy

6. 15th May – Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia

7. 29th May – Donington Park, UK

8. 19th June – Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, Italy

9. 10th July –  Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, USA

10. 24th July – Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Italy

11. 18th September – Lausitzring, Germany

12. 2nd October – Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours, France

13. 16th October – Circuito de Jerez, Spain

14. 30th October – Losail International Circuit, Qatar

* Subject to homologation

** Subject to contract
*** WorldSBK only

Official tests:

Pre-season - Phillip Island – Monday/Tuesday prior to Australian Round (WorldSBK, WorldSSP)
Post-race 1 – Misano – After Riviera di Rimini Round (WorldSBK)
Post-race 2 – Jerez – After Spanish Round (WorldSBK)

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos