Parkalgar withdraws from World Supersport

Parkalgar Honda leave the World Supersport championship after six seasons

ONE of the top World Supersport teams, Parkalgar Honda, has decided to withdraw from the championship.

The team has taken part in the Supersport category for six seasons, taking 12 wins in the class, with Eugene Laverty scoring two consecutive runner-up positions in 2009 and 2010.

Parkalgar Honda, which had backing from the Portimao race circuit, ran with Honda CBR600RRs prepared by Performance Technical Racing. The British outfit, run by Simon Buckmaster, will remain in the WSS championship with a competitive six-rider line-up.

It was a difficult but unavoidable decision to take,” said AIA (Portimao circuit) manager Paulo Pinheiro. “Ours was without a shadow of doubt a successful project: our aim was to make Portimao’s Autodromo Internacional do Algarve circuit known throughout the world and in this we succeeded.

"Nevertheless, without the support of other backers, it was no longer possible to continue with the same conditions and ambitions in 2012. We are grateful to everyone who contributed to the success of the project, as well as the riders who defended our colours over the years: Simone Sanna, Eugene Laverty, Sam Lowes, Josh Hayes and obviously Miguel Praia. A special and sad mention must also go to Craig Jones: we will never forget him, he was an exceptional rider and person.”

The decision however has left Miguel Praia without a ride for the 2012 season. Praia has been with the team since its beginning in 2006, the team is aiming for some wildcard rides for the Portuguese rider.

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Videos