MotoGP championship standings after Phillip Island

Lorenzo sees off the competition to win the world championship

JORGE LORENZO wins his second MotoGP title after extending the gap between him and closest rival Dani Pedrosa to an unassailable lead. 

Pedrosa crashed out in the second lap, ending his challenge for this year's championship. 

With only one race remaning at Valencia, it is now too late for Pedrosa to recover the points defecit making Lorenzo champion regardless of results in the final race.

1. Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 350

2. Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 307

3. Casey STONER Honda AUS 238

4. Andrea DOVIZIOSO Yamaha ITA 208

5. Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 165

6. Valentino ROSSI Ducati ITA 157

7. Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 151

8. Stefan BRADL Honda GER 135

9. Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 122

10. Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 88

11. Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 83


13. Randy DE PUNIET ART FRA 58

14. Karel ABRAHAM Ducati CZE 50

15. Michele PIRRO FTR ITA 32

16. James ELLISON ART GBR 28


18. Colin EDWARDS Suter USA 25

19. Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter ITA 19

20. Jonathan REA Honda GBR 17

21. Mattia PASINI ART ITA 13

22. Ivan SILVA BQR SPA 12

23. Toni ELIAS Ducati SPA 10

24. Katsuyuki NAKASUGA Yamaha JPN 7

25. Steve RAPP APR USA 2

26. David SALOM BQR SPA 1

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now


Loading Comments...