Marquez keeps perfect record in USA as Vinales falls

Marc Marquez wins again in America as Maverick Vinales falls which hands Valentino Rossi the title lead

Marc Marquez has claimed five MotoGP wins from five races in the United States of America as Maverick Vinales falls to hand Valentino Rossi the championship lead.

The Repsol Honda rider reeled in team-mate Dani Pedrosa with 10 laps to go before making his move and breaking away at the front to win by three seconds, with Rossi claiming second thanks to a late charge on Pedrosa.

Crutchlow made a similar late bolt in order to take fourth place off of Johann Zarco, as Vinales gave away his MotoGP championship lead to Rossi with the Italian now leading by six points.

Andrea Dovizioso claimed the top Ducati title with sixth place ahead of ex-team-mate Andrea Iannone on the factory Suzuki with Danilo Petrucci beating Jorge Lorenzo to eighth place in the closing stages.

Full American MotoGP race results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 43m 58.770s
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 44m 1.839s
3. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 44m 3.882s
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 44m 6.408s
5. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 44m 6.727s
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 12.828s
7. Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 44m 14.261s
8. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 15.542s
9. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 44m 16.749s
10. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 44m 17.264s
11. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 44m 17.673s
12. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 44m 27.505s
13. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 44m 28.811s
14. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 44m 30.134s
15. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) 45m 5.317s
16. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 45m 20.860s
17. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +2 laps
Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* DNF
Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) DNF
Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) DNF
Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) DNF
Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) DNF

Join the conversation!

Let us know what you think, just sign up for a free account, leave a comment and get involved!
Register Now

Latest Reviews


Latest Videos